Month in Review – March 2016

Hello from Canada! I’ve now changed the time zone for my blog, so the stats are a little bit off, as the start time has now changed. That means that previous results are off by a few hours. Oh well. I’ll give you the stats for March as they stood for Edmonton’s time zone. Like I mentioned for the February review, it was the best month ever, and I expected March to slow down. Well, it didn’t. It ended up being my second best month ever! But just barely ahead of January 2016. The month ended with 1270 followers, up by only 26.

March Stats

March started off slowly, but started to get better toward the middle of the month. And then, an amazing thing happened. A post went viral. The average number of views per day was 121, which is the second best ever. Only 16 out of 31 days were over 100 views, but 1 day was over 200. In fact, that day was the best day ever. The best day of the month was March 22 with 438 views! The total number of views in March was 3,739, making it second best ever. It was the 18th month in a row over 2,000 and the 9th time over 3,000. The month ended with 73,915 views. There were 54 posts in March, bringing it to a total of 1,703.

In March, there were 643 comments, bringing it up to 13,386 comments in total.

The top ten countries were:

  1. United States (1,614 views)
  2. Canada (1,124 views)
  3. Japan (272 views)
  4. United Kingdom (265 views)
  5. Australia (95 views)
  6. France (30 views)
  7. India (27 views)
  8. Brazil (21 views)
  9. Philippines (20 views)
  10. Malaysia (20 views)

Top Posts

The top five posts in March were:

  1. To Those Who Blame Justin Trudeau for CPP Investment in Mumbai (814 views)
  2. Authors Answer 73 – A Flight Across the Pacific (109 views)
  3. What Defines a Successful Blog? (94 views)
  4. Don’t Believe the Mt. Etna CO2 Meme (79 views)
  5. Duolingo, You’re Drunk (53 views)

The most popular post written before March was INTJ – An Analysis of My Personality with 45 views. For the first time in several months, this is the top older post.

As for these posts, I think you should give them a look. They weren’t as popular as the others, but they still deserve a read.

Reviews

I did manage one review in March. That was for:

I have three more to do to catch up. Expect them this month.

Social Media

On Twitter, I have 3,232 followers, which is an increase of 61.  I follow 3,169, which is up by 61. I finished with 8,463 tweets, with only 85 coming in March.

On YouTube, I uploaded 4 videos in March.  I have 50 subscribers, which is an increase of 1 from last month.  The month ended with 9,547 views, which is an increase of 231. I have a lot of videos to edit and upload about our move to Canada, as well as many videos about sightseeing in Japan to do. Expect a lot this month.

Looking Ahead to April

There will be a lot of things happening this month. First of all, writing may finally recommence. That will be great. However, it will be a very busy month because we still have lot to do about settling into life in Canada, registration of my daughter for school, and many other things, like getting a job.

I would expect a lot of videos this month. I’m re-branding my YouTube channel, and will have a lot of great content coming.

Regular features will continue as always. I also plan on getting caught up with comments and social media, and setting up YouTube for monetization. Hoping to get a little income from my channel if it ever becomes more popular. I also expect a return to being very productive on the blog. The past couple of weeks have been a bit quieter. Back to blogging twice a day!

So, thanks to everyone for reading! You always make it worth it. Please leave a comment below.

2 thoughts on “Month in Review – March 2016”

Leave a Reply

