Clouds of Alberta

I’ve been enjoying looking at the sky recently. The clouds in Alberta are so different than Japan’s clouds. The flat land has a lot to do with it. There are bigger temperature changes, and often more wind. And sometimes, the clouds just look weird.

Last night, the clouds were curly.

20160409-114652-42412570.jpg

20160409-114704-42424351.jpg

And the sunsets have been interesting. But it was too cloudy last night for much of one, but I saw this:

20160409-114746-42466134.jpg

What I’m looking forward to this summer are the giant cumulonimbus clouds that come with thunderstorms. They are incredible here.

What are typical clouds like where you live?

7 thoughts on “Clouds of Alberta”

  1. Our land here is flat, approaching the Lake (Erie) and a lot of our beautiful cloud displays center out over the lake. You were describing your clouds there were you are now…. well when I was in Washington (Seattle area) I saw some clouds that so impressed me that I remember them clearly…in fact I found a photo of them in my albums when I was looking for the harbor/park shots I posted last month.

      1. don’t know… sounds related to cepulcular rays…those might be what are in the rays of the sun in my header photo. I saw some old pics where my late-husband had written cepulcular rays..if that’s spelled right.

Leave a Reply

