Zootopia – My Daughter’s First Movie Theatre Experience

For the first time ever, my daughter watched a movie in a movie theatre. She’s watched a movie on TV before, and she paid attention to the entire thing. The movie was Majou no Takyuubin (Kiki’s Delivery Service). She watched a couple movies on the airplane, but didn’t pay attention to them for more than fifteen minutes. So, I was wondering how well she would sit still for a movie in the theatre.

The movie was Zootopia, a movie she’s been excited about seeing for a while now. Well, she had her drink, a strawberry Fruitopia. It rhymes with the movie’s title. She sat between my wife and I in a nearly empty afternoon theatre. And then the movie started. And when the theme song by Shakira started, she was dancing in her seat. Both times. There were a couple scary moments in the movie when she hid her face in my arm, but she was okay once it was over.

At the end of the movie, she didn’t want to leave the theatre. She didn’t understand that once it was finished, everyone had to leave. When we got her to leave, I asked her if she enjoyed the movie. She did. I asked her if she was scared. She was. But she had a good time. And most importantly, she sat for the entire movie. She’s patient enough now. And she loved the movie.

As for what I thought of the movie, I enjoyed it. It was quite fun, funny, and pretty creative. My first impression was that I wanted to visit Zootopia. Go see it!

10 thoughts on “Zootopia – My Daughter’s First Movie Theatre Experience”

  1. We were planning on seeing that one a couple weekends ago on our trip but the boys developed fevers so we skipped it. I’d love to see it. We took our kids to see Inside Out and they both sat and watched it all. Bang would have been 3. I think it’s the atmosphere, because he rarely sits through whole movies at home.

Leave a Reply

