The Job Search

Looking for a job is one of my least favourite things to do. But it’s something I have to do. I worked for eleven years at my previous job in Japan, so it’s been a long time since I’ve had to change jobs.

Oddly, I enjoy looking at what’s available. It’s like going through a catalogue or browsing a bookstore. Interesting to see what there is, which ones I’d consider. Of course, many of them I don’t qualify for. But I’m putting out applications several times a day.

I’d say my least favourite part is writing cover letters. I have to customise them for each job, and it takes a lot of time to do it. The resume’s done, and I just tweak it for each position, highlighting what they ask for.

My second least favourite part is the wait. After having several resumes sent out, I’ve had one response. And that one was saying that the position I applied for is not available, but please try again in six months. And it was the job I wanted most, actually. But there are some other promising ones that look quite interesting. I just have to wait. And they’ve said they won’t contact anyone until after the closing date for each one. So, I have to wait until then.

At least I have something to occupy myself for the rest of the day today. Get my bank card finally sorted out and visit my daughter’s school for a parents’ orientation. That should be interesting. I’m looking forward to it.

What are your experiences in searching for jobs? How long did it take to find one? Let me know in the comments below.

12 thoughts on “The Job Search”

  1. I hate writing cover letters so. much. Even after you hear back, the interview process is so long. It takes months just to start a new job – the one I’m about to start was basically a two month process. Good luck with your search 🙂

  2. I hate the whole process of looking for a job. The writing of the cover letter, waiting for the response, excitement at getting called in for the interview, not getting the job…and repeat. I did a bit of this and at some point, I got really drained. When I finally landed my current job 4 years ago, I think I was at my wits ends. I will forever be thankful that I didn’t give up. Good luck on your search.

  3. As a teacher, I just have to apply to school boards and then hope I hear something back after the job’s closing date. I suppose it’s the same hoops but only 1 place to apply (only 1 school board in my area).

  4. My husband was in a similar position when moving back to Canada he had been at the same company in Australia for just short of 10 years.
    He was lucky and got several interviews within days of putting in applications, received 2 offers and then started a job exactly one month after we arrived in Toronto. It all happened faster than we thought it would but we are grateful because it meant we wouldn’t eat too much into our savings and could start apartment hunting and get out of the short-term accommodation.

    After owning my own business in Australia for 8 years and having very little time off (never switching off from it and mostly working 7 days) I am having some time off and getting us all settled into life in Canada so I don’t have any experience in looking for some time.

    Best of luck with the hunt!

Leave a Reply

