Kumamoto Earthquake, Something I Left Behind

When I lived in Japan, I experienced earthquakes frequently. I went through the big one on March 11th, 2011. But on April 14th, Kumamoto went through its own big earthquake.

Nine people are dead, mainly because of collapsed houses. It’s really strange reading all the comments on Facebook and reading the news articles. I used to be the one to write those comments about earthquakes, but now I don’t feel them. There are no earthquakes here. It really is strange not going through them anymore.

In a way, I miss earthquakes. Does that sound strange? What do you think?

22 thoughts on “Kumamoto Earthquake, Something I Left Behind”

  1. You’re really weird. Earthquakes were my greatest fear when I was there. And that’s saying a lot, considering I was a lone woman, traveling thousands of miles away from anyone who knew me, in a country where i barely new the language.

    1. But it’s a good country to travel in, because there are a lot of people to help out in case you get lost. Many would be willing to take the time to guide you to wherever you need to go.

  2. Understandable. I miss the weather of VA. The wicked storms, the thunder and lightning. It’s something you’re accustomed to, so not feeling them any more would be strange.

  3. It must have been a difficult experience being in Japan during that time. Am not used to earthquake effects at all but we had just left Lisbon when the quake in Japan happened. Lisbon was destroyed by an earthquake in the 1700s. Our local church spire in Spain is recorded to have fallen down due to that tremor. Strange all seems calm now!

    1. Europe is pretty stable, except the eastern part of the Mediterranean.

      It was a difficult time after the earthquake. Lots of shortages and frequent aftershocks over the next month.

Leave a Reply

