Is This Rabbit City?

The area that we live in now has plenty of wildlife. We’re close to the edge of the city, as well as near a ravine with plenty of trees and a small creek. But running around the neighbourhood, there are many rabbits.


It seems that we see rabbits daily. We even saw four rabbits in one spot. They’re also many different colours. And they are huge. These are not the cute little fluffy ones, these are cat-sized.

They aren’t the only mammals around. Although we haven’t seen any yet, it’s possible to encounter deer, foxes, skunks, and coyotes. We saw a muskrat, though.

Birds are plentiful, too. Lots of ducks (mainly mallard), Canada geese, magpies, crows, pigeons, chickadees, robins, sparrows, and gulls. I’m looking forward to finding my old bird field guide and going birdwatching.

Whet animals live around where you live? Let me know in the comments below.

12 thoughts on “Is This Rabbit City?”

    1. I’ve never seen an owl. No opossums around here. However, there are raccoons, but never seen them here. I did see some when I lived on the west coast, though.

  1. We live across the road from a nature preserve. I have seen squirrels, rabbits, raccoons, deer, foxes, and coyotes quite frequently. A couple of years ago, a mama fox decided to raise her family by a pond on our property. What a fun thing to watch!

    1. That would be great to see. My sister said a mother rabbit left her baby in her back yard all day, and it never moved from that spot while she was away.

    1. I love seeing blue jays. My wife loves the magpies we have here. They’re as much of a nuisance as crows can be, but they are beautiful. This morning, I saw some sparrows and a chickadee outside.

Leave a Reply

