Got an Itch for Birdwatching

Ever since coming back to Canada, I’ve been watching the birds whenever we’ve gone out. My wife has been taking pictures, I’ve been listening to the birds. I’d like to find my field guide to birds of western North America and start birdwatching.

This is going to be a bit bigger than just finding the birds. I plan on taking pictures and posting them, but not on here. I’m going to start a separate blog for birds of Alberta (and more). I’ll just keep taking pictures and posting them, even if they’re birds I’ve taken pictures of before. I may take a very good picture that has to be shared. On that blog, I’m going to keep a checklist of the birds I’ve seen, and update whenever I find a new bird.

So, in addition to this blog, I’ll have the bird blog and an Edmonton Asian and burger restaurant blog.

What do you think?

6 thoughts on “Got an Itch for Birdwatching”

    1. Well, the bird one will mainly be photography, not much writing. The restaurant one will only be updated after I’ve been to a restaurant. And that won’t be often.

  1. I love birds and birdsong too, but only have a few pictures. My father-in-law (deceased) was big on birdwatching. When we were in Florida the sand hill cranes toured the park all through the summer months. In Quartzsite, AZ in the winter, we see an occasional roadrunner, sparrow, and lots of desert quail. Occasionally a ruby-throated hummingbird shows up. Makes my day.

    1. Sandhill cranes also live up here. They summer here, while they winter in the southern US. I’m looking forward to seeing a blue jay or a cedar waxwing. Those are not as common, but they live around here.

Leave a Reply

