Amazing Aurora Display

Last night, I checked the Aurora Forecast app on my phone. This is what I saw:

I’m at the red pin position. All that red just to the north. Well, a quick check outside revealed a faint aurora all over the sky. There were a lot of lights around, so it wasn’t very bright. I told my wife that we could see aurora outside, and we quickly went out. We took my sister’s car to the next neighbourhood over, which is right on the edge of the city, and we went into a park under construction. No lights. The result? Amazing aurora. Best I have ever seen.

We came back home, and my wife got her camera. Turns out we could’ve just gone to the park near the house and it was nearly as good. And she took pictures. Here are a couple she took.

aurora1

It was green! We could see that it was green with the naked eye, but the camera captured it wonderfully. But I really like the next picture.

aurora2

Aurora and city lights with a pond reflection. Although it’s somewhat blurry, that’s what you get when you don’t have a tripod and have a longer exposure.

And you know what? There’s a possible repeat performance for the next two nights.

Did you see the northern lights last night? Have you ever seen it? Let me know in the comments below.

9 thoughts on “Amazing Aurora Display”

  1. these photos are wonderful…I don’t think we will be able to see it here in Ohio near Cleveland. Are you near the fires? They mentioned Edmonton yesterday on the news and I thought about you there. 🙂

    1. The fires are about 500 km from here. Not so near. However, it’s so dry here that a fire could start. A couple did in the city, but they were out quickly.

          1. yes, and most of those were caused by stupid careless people…not lightning. I hope you are adjusting well to your new surroundings…I always did, home was just sort of where ever I was at the time. 🙂

    1. I don’t think you’re too far south. I’ve heard that they occasionally get as far south as the northern states. But that’s only occasionally.

Leave a Reply

