What’s the Best Science Fiction Novel, Series, and Author?

I asked these questions before with fantasy, which I still invite you to answer. Like I said before, I love reading fantasy, but I prefer writing science fiction more. However, I still love reading science fiction. So, please answer these questions in the comments:

  1. What’s your favourite science fiction novel?
  2. What’s your favourite science fiction series?
  3. Who’s your favourite science fiction author?

Thanks for answering! I look forward to hearing what you say.

21 thoughts on “What’s the Best Science Fiction Novel, Series, and Author?”

  1. I have many favourite science fiction novels! Hard to pick a clear winner. Clarke’s ‘Rendezvous with Rama’, Asimov’s ‘The Robots of Dawn’ and ‘Foundation and Earth’. Most of the Heinlein juveniles. Hal Clement ‘A Mission of Gravity’ and van Vogt’s ‘The Voyage of the Space Beagle’ among them. Series? Asimov’s Foundation. Author? Clarke with Heinlein and Asimov close second. Call me a fan of the dieselpunk age…

    1. I have the entire Rama series. I’ll eventually get around to reading it. It seems very interesting based on the blurb.

      I’m also quite interested in Asimov’s Foundation.

      1. Clarke’s original story is one of my all-time favourite novels – super-hard sci-fi written in his inimitable style. I wasn’t so convinced about the sequels, which I tried to tackle but which to my mind reversed the concept of the original – the notion that aliens find and ignore us. It also added ‘explanation’, and to me a lot of the power of the original novel was the sense of inexplicable mystery that was preserved to the very last words.

          1. I don’t think he had much to do with them. His co-author was Gentry Lee and the writing style was certainly Lee’s. Where Clarke wrote sequels himself the results were better. I rather enjoyed “3001: the final Odyssey”, not least for the way Clarke used it as a vehicle to play with some of his long standing concepts of futurism.

            1. Really? While I found 3001 interesting, I wasn’t fond of how it ended. It seemed like he ran out of ideas and used a science fiction cliche.

  2. I’ve read a ton. Hard to choose. The Moon is a Harsh Mistress by Robert Heinlein is always a favorite. I love Asimov. Trying not to be too trendy, but I have to mention Ender’s Game by Card and the new Red Rising trilogy by Pierce Brown. Bluescreen by Dan Wells is technically YA, but it is revelatory in its predictions and shouldn’t be ignored.

    1. Thanks for the comment. Having only read Ender’s Game, I agree it’s pretty good. Heard about most of the others, though. I’m definitely interested in Red Rising.

  3. Best Novel – Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card), Best Series – The Conquerer’s Trilogy (Timothy Zahn), Best Author – Orson Scott Card

Leave a Reply

