Edmonton Tour: A Changing Downtown

Before I lived in Japan, I lived in Edmonton. And now I’m back. During the eleven years that I was away, a lot had changed. And the biggest changes are happening now. There are massive construction projects going on. In this first part of my Edmonton tour, I’ll show you some major construction projects downtown.

The biggest one is the ICE District. One of the centrepieces of this project is Rogers Place, the new home of the Edmonton Oilers. They’re going to start playing there this fall.

Can you imagine walking up these stairs?

A bit further west, there’s this office building. It’s pretty narrow, but from what I’ve seen of the rendering, it’s a lot of glass.

Moving back to the ICE District, here is the office for the project. Inside, there’s a model of the project, which you can see as the glowing buildings in the window. The three tallest towers will be the three tallest buildings in the city. The tallest will be the tallest building in Canada outside Toronto at 251 metres tall. It’ll be the headquarters of Stantec and above that, condominiums. Can you imagine living in the penthouse?

While walking east, I came upon the Fox towers. The one on the right is finished, while the one on the left is under construction.

This building, Ultima, was recently completed. Looks pretty tall and pretty good.

Back to the ICE District. Here is the main construction site for the Stantec tower and the hotel. Lots of cranes and a big hole in the ground.

There’s a tower that’s been topped out. It’s the City of Edmonton Tower, and will house a lot of offices for the city.

A close-up reveals a gentle curve.

I went up into a parkade across the street to get this photo. It looks much bigger in person. This is where the Stantec and hotel towers will go.

You can see the location of Rogers Place in relation to the hole.

And here’s the City of Edmonton Tower from the other side. You can see the curve here, too.

In the heart of the financial district is the Kelly-Ramsey Building. This office tower is on the site of a historic building that burned down.

Luckily, they were able to save the outside of the building, took it apart brick by brick, and then rebuilt it as part of the podium of the tower.

And that is all I managed to get. There are several other construction sites, most notably the Royal Alberta Museum.

Next time, I’ll give you a tour of the skyscrapers I saw in the early part of my walk.

Comments are appreciated!

19 thoughts on “Edmonton Tour: A Changing Downtown”

  1. Love these pics, I’m excited about the new Arena. I’m hoping it leads to the Oilers in the playoffs and a lot more activity and revitalization in the area. I’m worried that the Coliseum and that area will be an a bad empty place though. They need to finalize some plans so it remains in use 🙂

    1. I think they’re planning on renovating the Coliseum and will use it for other purposes. There are major plans for rebuilding the Northlands area. I’m definitely excited to see a game in Rogers Place.

      1. Yeah I know. I tried to get Keith Urban tix for Rogers but no such like. Maybe a hockey game ticket will be more likely. Yeah I really do they get the go ahead to renovate the Coliseum 😀

        1. With the location of Rogers, it’s going to be harder to get tickets for anything, I think. So much more convenient, and there are several hotels around (with a big one being built next to it). That whole area is going to be busy.

  2. I really enjoy construction for some reason, i think the yellows are pretty. Is this in Japan?

    1. You’re welcome! I actually live on the edge of the city, so farms are within walking distance. Doesn’t make it easy to get around the city, though. I really want the LRT to be built down to here quickly!

  3. I am an avid hockey fan but also a fan of business entrepreneurs like Daryl Katz. His family pharmacy empire grew tenfold under his direction and management. He paid $200 million for the Edmonton Oilers . in 2008 and he is currently working to refocus his efforts to build Canada’s largest mixed use-sports and entertainment district. He is by far one of the most successful businessmen in North America. I am looking forward to seeing how he helps to take this team to the next level and what is next venture will be. He is really focusing on helping Edmonton become a fantastic tourist destination.

    1. I’m also very positive about the Ice District and the future of downtown. This will bring a lot of business and people downtown, improving the economy. The amount of money spent by the city of Edmonton will be paid back in full and more by taxes and the amount of business it’ll bring to the city. People can be so shortsighted, and only think of the short term. This is a long term investment that’ll see great benefits.

Leave a Reply

