Exercise to Begin

When I lived in Japan, I did a lot of walking. I’d walk around fifteen kilometres at a time. From where we lived, there was a large variety of landscapes to explore. But here in Edmonton, it’s all city. Not much is different, though the neighbourhoods all have their own character. However, walking isn’t all the exercise I want to do.

Yesterday, we signed up for a membership at the local recreation centre. It has two swimming pools, a gym, fitness centre, two skating rinks, an indoor playground for kids, and a public library. The pool has been closed for a while, but is reopening on May 30th. That means I’m going swimming for the first time in years. And since we have an all facility pass, we can use anything we like in the rec centre. I’ll be swimming a lot. I’ll also use the fitness centre from time to time. But once I can buy some skates, as well as get my daughter a pair, I want to go skating often. My daughter is going to learn how to swim and skate this year. I’m going to get back into doing both.

What kind of exercise do you like to do?

6 thoughts on “Exercise to Begin”

  1. Mostly walking for me. To the grocery store, the bank, the library, post office, or local fabric store. Housework. Yard work if I must. How old is your daughter? Has she ever skated before?

  2. I was clearing out some old stuff today and found naginata lessons as something I was once interested in. This, and belly dancing, for some reason — hmm. Could be local culture.

Leave a Reply

