My Daughter Can Do Anything

I have a four-year-old daughter. She likes pink and purple. She loves wearing skirts. She loves dolls, My Little Pony, Frozen, Pretty Cure, and drawing hearts and flowers. She also loves cars, trains, and airplanes. She has shown interest in ballet and singing. She’s also shown interest in soccer and baseball. She is full of energy, strong-willed, stubborn, and takes control over whatever group she’s playing with.

She has shown a very strong ability to problem solve, work with her hands, do puzzles that are meant for older kids, and create things with Lego. She has an incredible imagination, as I would expect kids to have. Within a few months, she should be fully bilingual in Japanese and English. She loves numbers. She loves animals.

She’s told me she wants to be a ballerina, singer, and a doctor.

She can do it. She can be whatever she wants. She can do anything she wants. If she wants to join a baseball team, then I’ll be there cheering for her. If she becomes the top kid in her school in math, I will be very happy for her. If she wants to become a singer and go on a show like Canada’s Got Talent, then I’ll be behind her all the way.

I will not tolerate people who tell her she can’t do something because she’s a girl. If she has a teacher who ignores her ability to do math, tells her that girls can’t do math, I won’t hesitate to tell the teacher that I will be reporting them to the Principal and school board for their sexism. If she’s a great pitcher, and her baseball coach has her sitting on the bench because she’s a girl and girls can’t throw, I will not tolerate that. I want her to be recognised for her ability, not her gender. If she’s bad at something, then she can practice more. She needs to earn her place. But if she’s ever told she can’t do something because she’s a girl, I will not be a pleasant person to deal with.

She will do what she wants to do. I will support her dreams. I won’t let her settle with what society expects of her. She needs to do what she desires. It’s her life to live, not anyone else’s. I’m happy to live in a society that supports this. But there’s still a long way to go.

29 thoughts on “My Daughter Can Do Anything”

  1. I can honestly say you deserve Father of the Year completely unironically. Little girls need dads like you to stand by them when/if things like this happen, because people can’t let go of outdated and always wrong stereotypes.

    1. You’re going to make me blush. I’ve always thought that any kid can do anything. Now that I’m a parent, I believe that even more strongly.

  2. Are you looking for a school that shares you philosophy? I’m not familiar with Canada’s public school system — do you have a choice about which she might attend? Are you thinking of home schooling?

    1. The schools here are very good. I have no worries about that. The school my daughter is starting at this September has a strong focus on literacy first. Even in Kindergarten, they want to make sure that kids can read. I never thought about home schooling, and I don’t think it’ll be an option I’ll consider.

            1. She got that a lot in Japan. Many people kept talking about how she looked like a doll. The funniest was when a group of university aged men walked past my daughter and I and one of them told the others that she looked so cute. Never expected that!

            2. men do indeed appreciate pretty girls of any age, and modern men are not above mentioning a cute child to friends. My son in law consistently admires our ten-year-old who he said looks like a little Swede. Which indeed she may be…partly. Of course it’s the almost-yellow hair. I always contribute that to the Viking ancestor. Blond hair and blue eyes are frequent in our family, but most of us have dark hair and brown eyes. Genetics! πŸ™‚

            3. Interesting. I’m a quarter Norwegian, and dark hair runs in our family, too. But we all have blue eyes. My daughter gets her brown eyes from the Japanese side, though.

  3. Here here, brother. πŸ™‚
    I can’t say that I experienced a huge amount of sexism in my day-to-day life growing up, but there were definitely little bits and pieces, like how my peers would torment me for the way I dressed (I was a jeans-and-t-shirt kind of person, not into fashion, and even less into makeup). And my mother, while I love her to death, was one of those kinds of people who believed in “girl toys” and “boy toys”. With my daughter she’s gotten out of it, but when I was growing up I was drowning in Barbies even though I would have loved to have some damn Ninja Turtles.

    I’m right there with you on having a well-rounded kid who likes what they like too. Mine loves wearing dresses, but also wants to play hockey. Obsessed with My Little Pony, but sleeps with a Rocket Racoon plush. Loves to draw, loves to play video games, is excelling in math and reading, and could spend all day running around the park. It’s refreshing, honestly, because I’ve met so many kids who, quite honestly, are pretty boring because their parents don’t introduce them to new things, don’t encourage learning and expanding their minds, and can’t be bothered supporting multiple likes at one time. I say show them everything and support the stuff that sticks. ^_^

    1. I want to show my daughter a lot of new things. One of those things is travel. I want to show her many different places. But next week, she’ll be going to a swimming pool for the first time. And later this year, she’ll try skating for the first time.

Leave a Reply

