A New Reading Order

With half of my books still on a boat somewhere on the Pacific and a good number of my books sold, I have to redo my reading order. But since I have new books, why not start with those? For these, I’m going to go by feeling (not necessarily in order of how good I think it’ll be) while alternating between fantasy and science fiction. So, here’s my new reading order:

  1. Redemption Ark, by Alastair Reynolds (in progress)
  2. The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, by N. K. Jemisin
  3. The Martian, by Andy Weir
  4. Theft of Swords, by Michael J. Sullivan
  5. Consider Phlebas, by Iain M. Banks
  6. Mistborn: The Final Empire, by Brandon Sanderson
  7. The Player of Games, by Iain M. Banks
  8. The Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss
  9. Use of Weapons, by Iain M. Banks
  10. The Way of Kings, by Brandon Sanderson

Okay, so the last book in this list is one of the highest rated fantasy books on Goodreads. Maybe I just want to save the best for last? After that book, I’m not sure what I’ll read. I’ll have to see what I have when the rest of my books arrive, and go from there. I have to rebuild my library!

What do you think of the order I chose?

3 thoughts on “A New Reading Order”

  1. Theft of Swords, by Michael J. Sullivan is fantastic. Riyria is one of my favorite fantasy series. It’s known as a “light” read, but it’s surprisingly deep, engaging and has a lot more character development than many of the “serious” modern fantasies. A great list, all in all!

    1. I’m looking forward to it. I’ve been talking to Michael off and on for the past two or three years, and he’s always been good for a brief email exchange. Interesting that Riyria started off as self-published, and because it sold so well, it attracted a publisher, and now he’s traditionally published.

Leave a Reply

