A Storm Was Brewing

You may remember that I love thunderstorms. One thing I love about Edmonton is that there are thunderstorms often in summer. Well, last night, while I was sitting in the living room, a strong wind suddenly came, and dark clouds moved in. I went outside and this is what I saw.

Very dark! The weather news said a thunderstorm was moving along the south side of the city and coming in this direction. I was very interested in seeing some lightning. It didn’t happen. It rained, but no lightning. I was disappointed. The dark clouds came, but they didn’t deliver.

Tonight, there’s a 40% chance of thunderstorms again. Not great odds, and I don’t expect it to happen.

Anyone else like thunderstorms?

26 thoughts on “A Storm Was Brewing”

  1. I LOVE thunderstorms. The last time we had one while I was out at work though…that was kinda funny. We were on the “dredge”, which is basically a boat in the middle of a small man-made lake, and an announcement came on the radio to let us know that a thunderstorm had been detected 16 km away and to be alert for warnings to stand down. The radio had literally JUST cut out when there was a clap of thunder that could have shook down a freakin’ building, and then the sky just opened up all at once and we got DRENCHED running to get across the dock and up to our truck. lol

    1. I’ve been in one of those sudden storms. One was in 2004 in Edmonton, and it dumped 160 mm of rain in one hour. It was a record rainfall. More rain fell in that one storm than the city gets in three months. It flooded the freeway and part of West Edmonton Mall. I was on the bus when it happened. The driver couldn’t see the road. It was like driving through a waterfall.

      1. They had a similar storm in Calgary, can’t remember if it was last year or the year before. One of my coworkers was talking with his wife at the time and their house was just flooding something awful. @.@

        1. It was a couple years ago, but I think it was because of all the runoff from the snow. Downtown flooded, and so did the Saddledome, where the Calgary Flames play.

  2. I love, love how the sky turns dark and frightening. It’s so atmospheric…that wasn’t meant to be a pun. I do try not to laugh at my one cat though. Thunderstorms terrify him, and he’ll “army crawl” into the bedroom to hide under the bed.

  3. I have a healthy respect for thunderstorms ever since my house and my neighbours was struck by lightning. I was inside at the time it happened; I thought a bomb had exploded! It blew up my TV and computer; destroyed the telegraph pole outside my house; parts of my neighbours TV aerial were found 30′ away; their plasma TV exploded and there was a 6″ diameter hole in their living room wall where the aerial socket used to be. All of the alarm systems in the road burnt out. To make matters worse; everyone’s insurers paid up within a few weeks … except mine. Oh no. “Oh, you’ve been struck by lighting and your TV doesn’t work. Why do you think that is the case?” “Because it worked before and now it doesn’t.” “Why do you think lightning would have caused that? We will need to see evidence that your TV worked before the alleged lightning strike.” “What do you mean, alleged?” “We will check the weather records for your location.” And so on.
    They did pay up, after 12 weeks and several complaints by me to senior managers. Needless to say, we don’t use that company any more.

    1. I’d hate that kind of questioning. Irritating that your insurance company would drag their feet so much.

      About three years ago, lightning knocked out the power for my neighbourhood for a while, and we lost one thing, a digital picture frame/clock. It wasn’t connected to a surge protector, while everything that was was okay.

  4. I absolutely LOVE thunderstorms. Not so much my dog though, who usually ends up on top of me in my bed. Love them especially when I’m inside, not so much when I’m out camping. That’s a bit too close for me!

    1. I wouldn’t want to be out camping during a big storm, but I don’t mind some rain while camping. Relaxing in the tent while reading during rain sounds relaxing. I’ve gone camping in the rain many times.

      1. Yes me too, it is kind of relaxing being inside when it’s raining, except when nature calls and you have to step outside into the freezing cold!!

  5. Love them! I’m actually in the middle of one right meow. It started while I was at work. And there’s been lots and lots of lightning. Thunderstorms are some of my favorite things in the world. I remember, in 2008, when Hurrican Ike came through devastated Houston, I sat out in my driveway and watched it approach.

    …I feel like I’ve told you that before, already. Huh. Anyway, doesn’t amke it any less true. XD

  6. I love them too, although they do seem more scary in Georgia than back home in Jamaica. Seen a few instances of houses caught on fire on the news. Never had that back home from a storm, as far as I know.

    1. I think they tend to be more violent in more temperate climates. There’s a sharper difference between the warm and cold air masses, which leads to much stronger storms.

Leave a Reply

