Choose My Best Instagram Photos – Round 1, Group 38

I’ve finished adding Japan photos to Instagram, so it’ll be capped at 63 groups for the first round. Once we finish group 63, we’ll move on to the second round, which will be randomly sorted photos that passed the first round. It’ll basically be the same format.

But now, on to the 38th group. This time, you get to see trains, buildings, and darkness. Enjoy!

The rules are simple. I post 10 of my Instagram photos every few days, and you get to vote on your favourites. It’s multiple choice, so please vote for 2 to 4 photos (3 is ideal). Leave a comment saying why you voted the way you did. The poll comes after the photos.

Here are the photos:

¥100 only

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

Sotetsu train car 7

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

Marker in the station

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

Sotetsu Shonandai Station Staff

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

Hina Matsuri is today

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

Cyclist in the fog

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

Remember 311

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

Venus and Jupiter meeting

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

Venus and Jupiter up close

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

Walkways in the sky

A post shared by Jay Dee Archer (@jaydeejapan) on

 

And now the vote. Please vote for your favourite photos (ideally 3, but anywhere between 2 and 4):

Please leave a comment with a reason for your votes. I’d like to know what works with my photography. Thanks!

14 thoughts on “Choose My Best Instagram Photos – Round 1, Group 38”

  1. my favorite is the cyclist in the fog…love the green. Of course I like the little dolls ,their inherent charm individually…and as a group.
    my third pick is the close-up of Venus andJupiter….I like the relative brightness of the two, and the uncluttered night sky…

    nice exercise,it causes me to study each photo and think about why they appeal to me.

      1. the cyclist is one with his surroundings, the mist and the morning. He/she is the subject but also becomes “the cyclist in the fog” which is a subject in its own. I just looked again at the photo, and noticed also the street lights and the shops in the fog. But the main is the cyclist. Pics with people doing stuff…thats what I like…or even animals doing something, digging or playing, chewing on a bone…action! 🙂

            1. sure. a “being” adds to any picture, a bird, bug, kid, even an object like a rock or flower. in front of me now I have a cluttered desk, and a cat facing away because she’s mad. without her its just a bunch of books, papers, junk, cup….I think you always have something “being” in your pictures.

  2. Cyclist in the Fog.
    Gut decision. Something going on. Dynamic. Good composition (perspective, golden mean and all that stuff). Mysteriosity. One could write a story about the scene. Realism. The rest are too static for my taste I guess.

Leave a Reply

