Is It Easy to Restart Sports After Many Years?

The last time I rode a bicycle was in 2005. The last time I went swimming was in 1996. The last time I went skating was in 2011. The last time I went skiing was in 1993.

This week, I’m going swimming for the first time in twenty years. In 2010, I went skating for the first time in 17 years. I’m going to go skating later this year. But is it easy to get back into it?

When I went skating in 2010, I used rental skates in Japan, and I had a bit of a difficult time at first. My ankles weren’t as strong as they used to be. That or I was heavier than I used to be. Well, I skated for a couple hours, finding that I was getting back into it fairly easily, other than the muscle strain. A year later, I went skating again, and it was much easier. I wonder how it’ll be later this year when I teach my daughter to skate.

But this week, the pool at the local recreation centre is finally reopening after some construction/repairs. It’s been twenty years since I’ve gone swimming. I wonder how well I’ll do. When I swam, I was more interested in just having fun. But this time, I want to swim laps, as well as have fun. Thankfully, the pools are open for public swimming many hours every day of the week. I’m looking forward to it.

Have you returned to a sport after many years? How well did you do? Let me know in the comments below.

15 thoughts on “Is It Easy to Restart Sports After Many Years?”

  1. It all depends on why you are looking to start doing sports again. Is it for fun, fitness, to remember your past experiances with each sport? What ever reason its for, I think it would be a good idea to get started again as we can never get enough exercise these days. I started going to the gym again after 6 years, now I can’t get enough of it. Revisiting any one of the sports will help you also relax and break up your weekly route that you may have been on for a long period of time. Hope this helps.

    1. It’s just fitness, really. Although for swimming and skating, I just enjoy them. Going swimming tomorrow with my daughter. It’ll be her first time in a swimming pool.

      1. You should start it again then if not for you than for your daughter. I have a 2 yr old daughter and we have a swimming lesson every Saturday. She loves it and it’s a great way to spend one on one time with her.

        1. Swimming lessons for my daughter would be without my wife or I. They don’t allow parents in the lessons. Too distracting. But this is for 4 and 5 year old kids.

  2. I can’t say I’ve quite a sport for that long. We swim at the beach every summer. I play soccer, albiet with kids, and other sports with the kids. I run several times a week. I bike with the kids (one in the bike trailer). I rollerblade on occasion. We’re very active! 🙂

    1. Sounds like it! When I moved to Japan, I did other things, mainly hiking. I didn’t have a bike, I didn’t go to pools or fitness centres, and it was expensive to skate. Also limited resources for that.

  3. I haven’t gone back to competitive sport for years now. I walk and cycle and do my zumba but that’s about the extent of it. Oh and sometimes I kick the footy with the kids! 🙂

            1. Definitely. She needs to be able to have regular contact with other kids. She sees different kids all the time at the park. But on Thursday, she’ll be meeting some of her future classmates.

            2. Well, feeling optimistic about some things, like my YouTube channel. Still waiting for a job, but doing freelance work sometimes. Maybe go swimming tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

