I Have a Content ID Claim on My YouTube Video

This is a first. One of my YouTube videos has a copyright claim on it through Content ID. This is not a copyright strike against my account, but it does notify me that someone has claimed that there is copyrighted material on a video of mine. As a result, that video is blocked in Germany. I made a video talking about it. Please excuse the wet hair.

The video in question is one of my A Taste of Japan videos that shows a couple yosakoi dance performances, and one of the songs has been Content IDed.

My question is this: has this ever happened to you? And what did you do? What do you think I should do?

I have several options:

  1. Do nothing. The video will continue to be blocked in Germany.
  2. Delete the video. No one can watch it.
  3. Mute the section that has been Content IDed.
  4. Replace the Content IDed section with YouTube-provided music.

What do you think? Let me know in the comments below.

6 thoughts on “I Have a Content ID Claim on My YouTube Video”

  1. The same thing happened to me with at least one of my slideshow videos. I wound up leaving it, though one of my followers is in Germany, we interact quite often, and she’s mentioned that she can’t view some of my videos. I think Germany is more a stickler for that for some reasons. I would leave it in your case, too. It can still be viewed in other countries, and I don’t believe it counts against your account.

    1. Yeah, my account is in good standing, so it doesn’t count against it. I don’t think I’ll have any problems with other videos and Germany, though.

Leave a Reply

