Crying and Reading

Last night, I went to the airport to pick up my sister and friends. I’d taken the child seat out of the back of the SUV, and my daughter noticed. I told her that I have to go pick up her Auntie and that I’ll come back with her. It was actually quite late in the evening, so she had to go to bed soon. But she would have none of it. She wanted to go with me. She held on to me and cried.

After I finally got outside, I realised that I forgot the drink I was going to take. It would be a couple hours until we were back home. I went in quietly, and I heard her crying upstairs. I went back out and my wife and daughter were at the window above the garage to say goodbye. She was still crying.

This morning, my wife went to her English classes and I got up. My daughter was still in bed.  Not so long after, I heard a loud cry from the bedroom. She was scared, she told me. We weren’t there. And after that, she was very clingy. She wanted to sit with me, follow me around, and constantly be with me.

I was helping get dinner cooked, so I went down to the kitchen to work on it while I waited for my wife to come home. I tried reading, but my daughter came down soon after and sat with me. No reading. Reading is very difficult around here. When should I read? It’s difficult to find the time to be alone. Well, I’ll figure it out.

6 thoughts on “Crying and Reading”

  1. Check out “Tag Jr” reader. It allows them to read books on their own (technically the reader reads it to them after they touch the reader to the page). It’s how I sneak in a few pages of reading time. Otherwise it’s reading after they’re in bed or before they’re awake in the morning. Good luck!

  2. Get good books to read to your kids! There’s a great selection. Or write some of your own to read to them! As for your own reading! Snatches! It’s hard being a good parent. I used to do audible in the car to work or on long journeys, good luck!

    1. My daughter has a lot of books. But as for my reading, I’m finding that I’m able to get some done after my daughter and wife have gone to bed, and I just go to the kitchen where no one is around.

Leave a Reply

