Authors Answer 85 – Authors Aren’t Perfect

I know what you’re thinking, authors can do anything. They’re so amazing at everything they do. They have limitless abilities and are pretty much superheroes or idols. Right? Well, we may be almost perfect. We do have flaws. Okay, I’m kidding. We’re real people who have our talents and, believe it or not, things we just can’t seem to do. This week, we discuss our lack of talent.

320px-Modern-ftn-pen-cursiveQuestion 85 – Is there something you can’t do no matter how many times you try?

Allen Tiffany

Correctly spell “available”.

Tracey Lynn Tobin

I’m sure there are lots of things that I just can’t do no matter what, but the first thing that came to my mind was “fighting games”. You know games like Mortal Kombat and Street Fighter? I’m absolute rubbish at them. That’s not to say that I’m fabulous at other kinds of games, but fighting games in particular are my sworn enemy. I’m just horrible at the button combinations and the timing required. I’ve been playing games like these since I was a kid, but I’ve always just been a button masher, hoping for the best.

H. Anthe Davis

Can’t really think of anything, sorry.  There are plenty of things I haven’t tried, and plenty of things I don’t do because I’m bad at them, but nothing I keep hammering at despite being bad at it.

S. R. Carrillo

Stay sane. ^_^

Eric Wood

I have tried to learn to juggle 4 and 5 things but I just can’t get it. Granted, I haven’t put in the amount of time practicing as I did when I taught myself to juggle three things. Nevertheless, I just can’t seem to do it.

Paul B. Spence

Fly. I’ve tried thinking happy thoughts. I’ve tried throwing myself at the ground and missing. Nothing seems to work. Sigh.

Jean Davis

Knit. Can’t do it. Nor crochet. Neither of those things works with my hands or brain. Yet, I love cross stitch so it’s not a counting thing. I’ve tried both several times over the years, but to no avail.

Elizabeth Rhodes

To this day, I have never learned to whistle. I’ve tried, and occasionally a weak little whistling sound will come out, but I can’t do it consistently. It also took me ages to figure out how to snap my fingers.

D. T. Nova

Most things that I’ve been repeatedly unsuccessful at are things I did eventually get the hand of, and most things that I think I’m not good at I never tried that many times.

However, I still can’t draw well at all compared to the amount of time I’ve spent trying to learn.

Gregory S. Close

Yes.  I really suck at knitting.  I volunteered for my daughter’s 2nd Grade class a few years ago to help with the weekly knitting activity.  I thought it would be a cool skill to learn, and I’m generally fairly dextrous with my fingers.  Alas, I could not master this skill.  I could get it started, and I could occasionally get it going, but I invariably ran afoul of my own fingers and ended up with a mess.  It was embarrassing, as most of the 2nd Graders caught on eventually, and I was no help at all.

The experience did give me a lot of ideas about how to handle the physical act of casting a spell, and served as a good illustration about the difference between conceptualizing a task and accomplishing it.  How many wizards could grasp the spell theory of magic, but couldn’t master the spell mechanics to channel and focus the magic? I thought that was intriguing.  I also gave my surly mercenary knight the hobby of knitting, which he learned from a now-deceased mentor, and which plays a bit of an interesting role in the narrative.

Linda G. Hill

I can’t whistle. At least not outwards. Inwards I can do. Unfortunately it’s hard to carry a tune that way.

Jay Dee Archer

No matter how many times I try, I just can’t snap my fingers. Why? I don’t get it. I can replicate the motion, but the sound just doesn’t come out. What am I doing wrong?

Also, I can never seem to beat one of my friends at Angry Birds Friends on Facebook. I always come in second.

How about you?

What are some things that you can never seem to do correctly no matter how many times you try? Let us know in the comments below.

10 thoughts on “Authors Answer 85 – Authors Aren’t Perfect”

  1. I can never seem to achieve getting the remote control for the tv off my husband, no matter how hard I try, he’s done me a favour in the long run, I took up writing… thanks hubby 😉

  2. My twin IS a superhero, but it has nothing to do with him being a writer. 🙂 (Well, nothing directly, at least. Some day we may write a work of fiction inspired by our experiences as the creations of mad scientists…)

Leave a Reply

