I Think Better than I Speak

Blog posts and vlogs may try to convey the same message, but making them can’t be any more different than they are. I’m doing both. I’m writing this blog, and I’m making videos for the same purpose. I’m just expanding my reach on the internet. However, how I come across is quite different.

Watch this video before reading on. Don’t worry, it’s not long.

Blogging

Blogging allows me to take the time to think about what I’m going to write. My words are well thought out, and I can re-read to edit it. I can make it look and sound good. I sound far more articulate, I use bigger words, I have no pauses. It just looks so much better. It’s also easier for me to do, because the words flow out of my brain and onto the computer. My thoughts are far more well-organised. I think logically, and I tend to use more complex language in my mind. I speak smoothly in my mind.

Vlogging

The potential to reach a larger audience on YouTube is irresistible. I’ve found a much bigger response from people on YouTube for one of my videos than I usually do for a blog post. What I like about doing videos is that you can usually see the real person. It’s not just words, but the actual person speaking. But the problem with making videos for me is that I don’t have the patience to spend hours editing a video to make it sound and look perfect. But when it looks perfect, I don’t sound natural. It’s not how I talk. I’m giving up on sounding like the best speaker on video. Although I taught conversational English for eleven years, and I’ve been able to have extremely good conversations in lessons, when you put me in front of a camera, I don’t appear like a very outgoing speaker. I pause a lot. I have thinking sounds all over the place. But I don’t want to edit those out. One, it’ll take too long. And two, it’s a more manufactured me.

But taking both of these into consideration, I think I sound more articulate in text rather than video. However, I will work on the videos a lot, reach a new audience, and have some great conversations. What videos allow me to do is deliver my message more quickly. And you get to see another side of me. I’m more confident in my ability to write blog posts, but I have the potential to reach a larger audience on video.

If you blog and vlog, how do you feel about your ability to communicate via the two media? Let me know in the comments below.

6 thoughts on “I Think Better than I Speak”

  1. I’m the same way. I’m much more comfortable being the cameraman than the one who the camera is on camera. I got a new mower yesterday and had the box sitting in the yard ready to be opened so I could assemble it and mow with it for the first time and I had to laugh because I seriously considered doing an “unboxing video” for the mower. But I was either too shy or thought it would turn out ridiculous so I didn’t.

    1. Haha. That would have been funny. I should do an unboxing video for something absurd and give an over the top reaction. I wonder how that would go 🙂

Leave a Reply

