Am I Privileged?

Having lived in two countries, I can definitely tell you that my level of “privilege” is different in each country. Here in Canada, I’m part of the majority. I’m white. I’m what people would consider privileged, a white male in a rich country, married, have a kid, and a university degree. I haven’t been discriminated against in Canada.

In Japan, I have been discriminated against. A couple times, actually. I was in the minority there, so I know what it feels like to be treated differently because of my race. I was sometimes a novelty to some people.

What’s interesting is that foreigners aren’t treated differently in Canada, because people are used to them, and there are so many. Canada is an immigrant country. In Japan, there are many people who have seen tourists, but rarely interact with them, especially in the countryside. I’ve been talked about by children who stare and are surprised that there’s a foreigner near them. But of course, I did get an advantage that many Japanese people didn’t. I was treated better in some cases by the companies I worked for, because I was the product.

I took a Buzzfeed test about privilege. I find Buzzfeed mostly stupid, but I took it anyway. My privilege score was 56 out of 100. How about you?

9 thoughts on “Am I Privileged?”

  1. I got a 37/100, which surprised me. I definitely feel like I’ve been doing just fine in life. I’m white in a rich country with a good support system of family/friends. The quiz puts a lot of weight on my gender, depression, weight, and alternate sexuality and religion, but those don’t usually factor in my daily life because I’m fortunate to be among people who don’t see that as an issue.

  2. I got 37 but that was a really mislabeled quiz. Many of the questions have nothing to do with privilege. I mean seriously, are we privileged if we’ve never been discriminated against? Or does it just mean we’ve had sensible people around us? And what the hell is a “Sallie Mae”?

Leave a Reply

