Authors Answer 86 – Authors Eat Weird Food

Everyone has their favourite foods. But sometimes, there are some unusual foods that we like, but most people would never touch. Authors are no different, of course. That’s what we’re talking about this week.

Before we go into the answers, I just want to take a moment to say that this is Allen Tiffany’s final month with us at Authors Answer. Thanks for contributing for the past year and a few weeks!

320px-Modern-ftn-pen-cursiveQuestion 86 – Is there an unusual food or drink that you love?

Linda G. Hill

I used to say eel, but since I’ve started eating a lot of sushi, that’s not very unusual anymore. Marmite is apparently something not a lot of people enjoy. Does that make it unusual?

Gregory S. Close

This isn’t really that unusual, but I really enjoy pizza with a combination of sweet and spicy flavors.  Pineapple/Jalepeno topping on a normal pizza is always good, and I also enjoyed pizza with buffalo wing sauce as the base with pineapple as the topping.  Years ago people thought that was weird, but these days I think it’s more common to play with sweet and savory combinations on pizza.

Also, I’m a vegetarian now, but as a kid my favorite food was squirrel.  Yes.  Squirrel.  I had a relative who hunted, and would ship off squirrel meat to us every once in a while.  I loved it.

D. T. Nova

I don’t think so. I used to be an extremely picky eater; that’s not true anymore, but I still don’t think I eat much that is widely disliked, or any uncommon combinations.

Elizabeth Rhodes

I used to eat tuna straight out of the can. Just drain off the water and grab a fork. Then I discovered tuna sashimi and never touched cooked tuna again.

Jean Davis

I don’t know as it’s all that unusual depending on where you live, but I love sushi. Good sushi, not the grocery store or buffet kind.

Paul B. Spence

Unusual? No. Unusual for where and when and who? I love Greek chili, enchiladas, Guinness, curry, and sauerbraten, to name a few. Shrug.

Eric Wood

I enjoy Bologna and ketchup sandwiches. Growing up, that’s one of the kinds of sandwiches that would be packed in my lunch. I still enjoy them, though I probably haven’t had one in years. I’ll be adding Bologna to my grocery list now!

S. R. Carrillo

Yes! It’s called a Pic-a-Dilly snow cone, and you get to pick whatever flavor you want for the shaved ice – typically fruit, like watermelon or cherry. Added to it are a couple layers of chopped up dill pickle (with the pickle juice!). Kool-Aid and spicy Lucas are sprinkled on top. I’ve only had it once before, but it was absolutely magical. I’d prolly break some minor laws for the chance to have it again.

H. Anthe Davis

I can’t really think of anything unusual that I love.  However, I am kind of the local food disposal unit, since I’ll eat anything no one else wants, even if it’s suspicious, and will sometimes eat things just so other people can’t.  Unless they involve tomatoes, eww.  I think I might be a raccoon.

Tracey Lynn Tobin

I haven’t had this in years, but when I was younger I liked to eat bologna sandwiches, but I would put a layer of Ritz crackers on top of the bologna. It made no sense because it was technically just another layer of bread, but I liked the crunchiness. I also used to take plain saltine crackers, and shake random spices from my mother’s cupboard on them to see what it tasted like. I probably near killed myself with all the salt. lol

These days I don’t think there’s too much that’s “unusual” that I love to eat, but I am a sucker for crappy frozen junk food, like Bagel Bites and Pizzaronis.

Allen Tiffany

I like red wine over ice.

Jay Dee Archer

Having lived in Japan, I got to try a lot of things that may be thought of as being unusual in North America. I love sashimi, but that’s become popular. I also love Marmite on toast. That’s something that either people love or hate. I’ve also had shark, which I thought was delicious. But I’ll go back to when I was a teenager. I used to love eating microwaved canned shrimp with margarine and Worcestershire sauce.

How about you?

What are some unusual foods that you love? Let us know in the comments below. Next week, we return to more bookish topics.

4 thoughts on “Authors Answer 86 – Authors Eat Weird Food”

  1. The first “unusual food” that comes to mind is red flannel hash. It’s made of potatoes, onions, ground beef, and beets — hence the name, because the beets turn the potatoes red, too. I know it’s rather common in some parts of the US, but I grew up in Kentucky, where just about no one has even heard of it. I love the stuff.

Leave a Reply

