Adults Reading Young Adult

I’ve read a handful of young adult (YA) novels, pretty much all fantasy. But I think that’s about the only genre I’d like to read YA books in. I may be 39 years old, but there are decent books out there in the YA fantasy genre that adults will enjoy.

I looked at the first page of Goodreads’ list of the best young adult fantasy books. I have some on my to-read list, some I have already read, some that look interesting, and some I’ve never heard of. Let’s look at the series.

Harry Potter, by J. K. Rowling

I’ve already read this. I enjoyed it a lot. It was quite fun. I sold my copies before moving to Canada, but they weren’t all by the same publisher or had the same cover art. I can buy them again, since I’d like to re-read them down the road sometime.

The Mortal Instruments, by Cassandra Clare

This series is talked about a lot. I haven’t actually looked into what it’s about. Do you think someone like me would enjoy it?

Graceling Realm, by Kristin Cashore

I’ve heard about this and know about the premise. It seems quite interesting, actually. It’s been on my to-read list for some time now, but I don’t remember adding it.

Throne of Glass, by Sarah J. Maas

This is on my to-read list, and I’ve heard a lot about it, mostly that it’s really popular. Seems interesting to me.

The Grisha, by Leigh Bardugo

I’ve only heard about it, but I don’t know anything about it. What do you think?

Daughter of Smoke & Bone, by Laini Taylor

Again, I’ve only heard about it, but I don’t know anything about it.

Twilight, by Stephenie Meyer

Not interested. Sorry. Vampires aren’t my thing, and Twilight certainly has no interest for me.

The Inheritance Cycle, by Christopher Paolini

It’s on my to-read list, even though I’ve heard it’s not very well-written. I’ve seen the movie for Eragon, so I already know what I’d be getting myself into. Going to read anyway.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians, by Rick Riordan

This is actually pretty high on my to-read list. I’d like to get this, even though it’s a very long series. It sounds interesting and comes highly recommended whenever I read about it.

The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins

Another one I’ve heard plenty about, would like to see the movies, and therefore, need to read the books first. I kind of like Jennifer Lawrence, as well. But this is about the books, not the movies. It’s on my to-read list.

The Infernal Devices, by Cassandra Clare

Another Cassandra Clare series I’ve heard is quite popular, although I don’t know much about it. What do you think about it?

His Dark Materials, by Philip Pullman

I know about this somewhat, since there was a movie about the first book, and I did see a bit of it. I guess I’d be spoiled a little. It’s on my to-read list, though.

The Lunar Chronicles, by Marissa Meyer

I know little about this, but have read the cover blurb. It looks interesting, though the cover of the first book, Cinder, may make some people wonder if I’m reading a romance novel. What do you think of it?

A Court of Thrones and Roses, by Sarah J. Maas

Another Sarah J. Maas series, I’ve heard little about it, but the interest is pretty high. I’m curious about it.

Seraphina, by Rachel Hartman

All I know is that it’s about dragons and their place in society. I don’t know much about it, but from what I’ve read, it looks interesting.

The Raven Cycle, by Maggie Stiefvater

From the cover blurb, I’m not so sure if I’m very interested in this. But I could be wrong. It’s not the kind of fantasy I like to read.

Gemma Doyle, by Libba Bray

Again, after reading what it’s about, my interest isnt very high.

The Iron Fey, by Julie Kagawa

I might have some interest in it. But I don’t know so much about it.

Abhorsen, by Garth Nix

This is definitely pretty high on my to-read list. I’ve heard some pretty good things about it, and I’m very interested.

I’m going to stop here, as that’s plenty to talk about. So, my question for you is this: Which series do you recommend? Keep in mind that while I’m mostly interested in traditional or high fantasy, I am open to other kinds of fantasy. I’m less interested in fantasy that takes place during the present time or in our modern world. But then, I enjoyed The Word and the Void series by Terry Brooks (and that’s not young adult). Please let me know what you think about the series I listed above. What do you think I should read?

22 thoughts on “Adults Reading Young Adult”

  1. I’ve read a lot of these series and they are quite good (I’m 42 btw, they make some good YA stuff! But I hear you, sometimes I feel a little old and creepy). I have a couple to add. Morgan Rice has three very good series. One is a Vampire series, one is a modern day kingdom kind of thing (Joust of Knights is the first in this series I think), and the last is a Hunger Games/apocolyptic kind of thing (Arena One is the first in this one). Also, Richelle Mead has two excellent series (The Alchemist series and Vampire Academy) and the House of Night series (by mother and daughter PC and Kristin Cast)

  2. Divergent series is good. As is His Dark Materials (though I only read the first book). I’m currently reading Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire to my oldest and he loves it too.

  3. *Ahem* Lemme break down some of the ones I’ve read to help you know more about what you’re reading. Throne of Glass is awesome, with lots of action and drama and suspense – but there is a bit of romance in there too. Not too overwhelming though. The Grisha is a cool sword and sorcery fantasy with Russian influences, again, with a dab of romance. Daughter of Smoke and Bone is a very cool alternate reality with a war between demons and angels and the human ‘daughter’ that lives with demons. His Dark Materials made me very angry when I read it, as it doesn’t have a typical ‘happily ever after’. The Lunar Chronicles is a really interesting sci-fi series that plays with common fantasy tropes: there is some romance in there, but theres also this epic battle between Lunars (Moon-dwellers) and Earthens (people of Earth). A Court of Roses and Thorns is a twist on Beauty and the Beast, but with a sort of Fae Court a la Shakespeare thrown in. Really liked it, but it had a heavy dose of romance in it.

    Of all the ones I’ve read, my absolute favorites are both of Sarah J. Maas’s series, the Lunar Chronicles, and the Grisha trilogy.

    Hope that helps a little. 🙂

    1. The Lunar Chronicles and The Grisha sound pretty interesting. I guess I can see why Sarah J. Maas is so popular. I keep hearing about her books. I may have to check them out. i must admit that fantasy in a Russian-style world sounds interesting.

  4. I enjoy YA fiction. These days it seems to be more adventurous and genre-bending than “grown-up” fiction. The Hunger Games is more well-known, but I really love her Gregor the Overlander series.

  5. Seraphina is a VERY good novel — good story and well-written (and if you prefer to avoid YA novels which emphasize an angsty teen love triangle or some such, be assured that Seraphina doesn’t have one of those).

  6. I love YA, particularly some of the older books I read when I was younger. My oldest amd I do book swaps-she will read a new YA and recommend it to me, and I’ll recommend one for her that I read at her age.

Leave a Reply

