Week in Review – June 26, 2016

Well, it’s been quite the week on the internet. You’ve probably noticed a continued focus on YouTube videos. I’ve done a lot. And the channel has grown! But don’t worry, I haven’t forgotten the blog. Let’s find out what happened this week.

Reading

I’ve been reading! I’m now at 45% in Redemption Ark, by Alastair Reynolds. I’ve felt a lot more motivation to read now that I’m hiding away in various places during the day to read.

Writing

If I could hide away to write, I would. It’s easier to get away and read, because interruptions don’t destroy my train of thought. For writing, I must have quiet and solitude for a good amount of time.

Patreon

As I expected, I’m getting nothing yet. But as I said before, I expect to get something once I’ve started writing again and have gained a considerably larger number of YouTube subscribers.

Languages

I’ve done a bit more with Esperanto, and I’ve been telling myself I really should split my studying time with Esperanto and French.

Videos

Here’s where the news is the biggest. My subscriber count has increased quite a bit. Nothing amazing, but it’s a lot more than it was a week ago. I also published six videos. Some do well, some don’t. I’m still discovering what kind of videos attract viewers, and what don’t. The other is that I’ve become a YouTube Partner. If I get to 1000 subscribers, I get some extra perks.

The Blog

The blog continues! It’s been a slow month, though a little more traffic this past week. But it seems summer is often slow for views because people are going out more.

Studying

Nope!

The Next Week’s Goals

Perfecting my video editing skills, making myself appear more outgoing on camera, and doing some of the more popular tags and types of videos. I plan on doing a multiple part series of unboxing my books. Most of my books are stuck in boxes and some are in the basement. I have to dig out some boxes in the basement. Also, June will be ending this week, so the Month in Review is coming. I really, really should do some reviews this week. Three book reviews and a TV episode impression. Maybe one a day. That’ll take us to the end of the month.

How was your week? Let me know in the comments below.

7 thoughts on “Week in Review – June 26, 2016”

  1. I find progress posts very useful in keeping me honest in addition to surprisingly helping/inspiring others. I added Redemption’s Ark to my to-read list because I saw you did on Goodreads, and a few of my followers have told me they’ve done/added things due to me talking about it.

    I’ve run Patreon through my mind myself, but I know I have absolutely nothing to offer right now. I’d like to start utilizing my YouTube more and even have videos to upload, but they require editing and time I need to dedicate to story editing.

      1. I’ve made a bunch on numerous things all on my iPhone (which is surprisingly a good camera/microphone). Some are me reading poetry, excerpts from my writing, quotes from authors with discussions to the same. I’ve made some discussion videos on literary devices/subjects, books like Paradise Lost, and I’ve done a few rants hehe. I’m actually planning on doing a video review of Paradise Lost instead of writing one, and I plan on doing a reading of the one story/fanfiction I have posted on my page once I have the proper equipment. I would also eventually like to do Let’s Plays, but all of these are waaaay down the line once I have the equipment and can schedule the time to do so.

        1. So, you have a lot of literary videos then.

          I also use an iPhone for my videos. It is quite good. But I also have the latest iPhone that came out recently. The camera is the best yet.

          1. It is! I have literary, some discussion/rant videos, a few where I read my own work. Once I have the time to edit them I’ll put them up. This may be months away hehe. I have an iPhone 6 and even though my screen is a bit damages, it still takes decent photos/videos. I like that there are two cameras.

Leave a Reply

