Month in Review – June 2016

Yoyo. That describes the last four months. High, low, high, low. April was the lowest month of the year statistically. June was the second lowest. But maybe that’s because of summer. Maybe it’s also because of my focus on YouTube. I’ll talk about that later. June ended with 1,364 followers, and increase of only 25.

June Stats

June had some really slow days. It started off on a really strong day, so I thought it would continue. But it didn’t. The average number of views per day was 94, which is the second lowest this year. Only 11 out of 30 days were over 100 views. The best day of the month was June 13th with 139 views. That’s not really that high. The total number of views in June was 2,807. It was the 21st month in a row over 2,000 views. The month ended with 83,054 views. There were 63 posts in June, bringing it to a total of 1,880.

In June, there were 414 comments, which was a bit slower than usual lately, bringing it to a total of 15,006 comments.

The top ten countries were:

  1. United States (1,242 views)
  2. Canada (370 views)
  3. United Kingdom (335 views)
  4. Japan (212 views)
  5. India (108 views)
  6. Australia (71 views)
  7. Spain (35 views)
  8. Brazil (32 views)
  9. Germany (31 views)
  10. Philippines (28 views)

Top Posts

The top five posts of June were:

  1. How Do You Pronounce That? (50 views)
  2. Authors Answer 84 – Unusual Author Talents (47 views)
  3. My Daughter Loves My Little Pony (47 views)
  4. Romeo Peed on the Floor! (45 views)
  5. WordPress Now Difficult to Use With Firefox (45 views)

The most popular post written before June was a book review! It’s Book Review – Macbeth with 95 views. This is one of my posts that remains popular after so long.

My top posts didn’t exactly produce much interest. Not like usual. Here are some posts that under-performed, and I think they deserve another look.

That’s a long list. I’m thinking the problem is that blog readers aren’t as interested in vlogs, and I haven’t been keeping up with social media or comments as I usually have been. I must catch up and keep caught up, interact more, and be more active.

Reviews

Still behind on these. I need to get caught up with this.

Social Media

On Twitter, I have 3,469 followers, which is an increase of 91.  I follow 3,391, which is up by 99. I finished with 8,985 tweets, with a big 170 coming in June.

On YouTube, I uploaded a whopping 19 videos in June.  I have 89 subscribers, which is a big increase of 34 from last month.  The month ended with 10,423 views, which is an increase of 625. Best month ever! This trend should continue, and possibly improve.

On Facebook, my author page has 78 followers, which is up by 3.

On Patreon, I have 0 patrons contributing $0 per month. I just started it, so it’s bound to have nothing at first.

Looking Ahead to July

I need to regroup after having such a slow month. There are a few things I need to do.

While I will still post my YouTube videos on the blog, I plan on writing more in-depth posts along with the videos. Authors Answer is also much more interesting this month.

I need to focus on the reviews, as well. I need to get some things updated on the blog, and I’m thinking about doing a lot more writing-related posts. And I want to have a return of Worldbuilding and Quick Facts.

And I think one of the biggest things I need to do is reach out to other bloggers again. I need to read more blogs, comment more, and use social media more effectively. I must catch up with that and stay up to date.

So, even though it was a slow month, and I’m guessing it’s because of the summer weather, I aim to make big improvements for July. Thank you to everyone who has faithfully read my blog! Let’s have a great July!

Leave a Reply

