Book Accessories: Bookmarks

I often talk about books, since this is mainly a book blog. But I don’t think I’ve ever talked about bookmarks before. They’re very useful pieces of paper, don’t you think?

Whenever I went shopping at Yurindo in Yokohama, they sometimes gave me a bookmark. I used them until they wore out, then I didn’t go shopping for books for a long time. And then, I used this:

It’s a receipt. And not just any receipt, but a receipt from a convenience store in Japan. I’ve been using that same receipt as a bookmark for at least a couple years.

Think I should use an actual bookmark? I watched a video on YouTube where the person asked his viewers if they could mail him bookmarks and postcards, if they liked. I like that idea, and even thought about it myself. If I could get a post office box, I’d do it. It sounds like fun.

When you read books, do you use a bookmark? What’s your bookmark like? Or do you dog ear the pages? Let me know in the comments below.

5 thoughts on “Book Accessories: Bookmarks”

  1. I can’t stand dog ear-ing the pages, so I definitely use bookmarks. When I was younger I never had a bookmark near to me, so I would use whatever was closest, a tissue, a freshly laundered sock. I recently have put my bookmarks in a nice dish and make a point of grabbing one every time I start a book.

  2. Sometimes I use whatever is handy — a scrap of paper, a piece of string, etc. — and sometimes I use an actual bookmark. I have a nice one a friend gave me, embroidered with Celtic knots. Scraps of paper are useful for marking pages anyway, because I don’t just mark the last page I was reading; THAT, I can find again even without a bookmark. I like to mark pages I may want to come back to later for writing a review of the book or just mentioning it in a blog post.

Leave a Reply

