#BlackLivesMatter and Booktube

In the Booktube community on YouTube, there was a question asked by a Booktuber, LuLo Fangirl, about why Booktubers don’t talk about #BlackLivesMatter. Why is everyone silent about it? They talk about drama that goes on in the community, but don’t talk about this big issue. I decided to respond, though I don’t think I could eloquently explain what I really wanted to say. But this is what I said.

I linked the situation with books. I think that books bring up issues like this, and it’s worth reading them. What I wanted to say but didn’t want to take up so much time is that I thought education, or rather a lack of good education, was a root cause of this problem. There are so many areas in the US where black people are marginalised, and some education could help. I mean educating everyone.

What do you think about this topic? Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

