Major Software Upgrades Make Me Nervous

It’s July 26, only three days until the free offer for Windows 10 is finished. I haven’t upgraded yet. But I get this every day now:

windows10upgradeI’m upgrading this week, but I had to do a lot of work to free up space on my C drive. It was full of videos! I’ve since moved a lot to my D drive, and now I have more than enough space to run the upgrade. But what’s stopping me?

In the past, I’ve had trouble with upgrading software. When I upgraded from Windows 8 to 8.1, I had a problem with my desktop refreshing every second, making it impossible to do anything. Turns out it was an upgrade from some other software that was hitting a lot of people. I had to restore my computer from an earlier date, and that fixed it. I’m good with computers and technology. So why do I get nervous when I have to make a major upgrade? Does anyone else feel that way?

12 thoughts on “Major Software Upgrades Make Me Nervous”

    1. Only thing I can see is lack of tech support for Windows 7. Anyway, I loved Windows 7! Windows 8 has been rather mediocre, but since I’ve heard Windows 10 is more like Windows 7, I’m upgrading.

  1. I absolutely hated the forced upgrade to Windows 10 from Windows 7 on my old laptop. I loved Win7 and Win10 made a mess of the most important program I use, Word. It caused it to freeze in such a way that I couldn’t save, and sometimes it would scroll to the top of the document so I couldn’t even take a picture of what I’d been working on. Something was hanging it up, but I didn’t know what. I wound up needing to do a workaround with OneNote. It was terrible. It’s fine on my new laptop since that came with Win10, but aspects of the OS still irritate me. It will just announce it’s going to do updates, and you better save your work because it’s going to happen. It’s also very “app” like. It’s similar to what my iPhone looks like. I don’t mind such an interface on a smartphone, but don’t really care for it on a computer. This seems to be the way of the future though so…

    The issue with staying with the old OS is eventually Microsoft will stop supporting it, and you’ll have to pay to upgrade to Win10 :\

    1. I’ve had no issues with Windows 10 yet. My upgrade was quite smooth. I read about the automatic updates being forced in Windows 10. But from what I’ve been able to tell with the settings I have, it’ll automatically update while my computer is idling and I’m not using it. What I was surprised to see is that updates are automatically uploaded to other people’s computers! It’s like a peer-to-peer system, but I disabled that. I do not need my upload speed to be reduced because of that. I do a lot of videos on YouTube.

  2. Jay,

    I feel for you. I once spent 18 months avoiding the IT people at work to avoid a complete upgrade. I mean not only a new operating system but a new computer as well.

    I have upgraded 3 computers to Windows 10 and except for the amount of time needed to complete the job it wasn’t too bad. Although there were a few minor programs that were either missing or didn’t work. But, I was able to get alternative software.

    Best of luck with the upgrade.

    –Tony

      1. I’m afraid not. I tried to run a DVD and I discover that I had no program. After searching the internet I found a DVD program that I could download and I was fine.

        If you’re planning on doing a presentation, I recommend testing the programs that you plan to use.

  3. I went for Win 10 in part because it seemed sensible to get on to the ‘current’ platform and it was certainly a step up from 8.1, if only a sideways lurch from 7. Had some issues with every machine I upgraded but it came out OK in the end.

Leave a Reply

