Would You Rather…

Life is full of choices, but usually not the choices aren’t one hundred percent binding. However, I was given the task of doing just that, but with books. I had choices to make, and it was an interesting exercise. It was the Would You Rather tag on booktube. Here are my answers.

So, these are the questions: Would you rather…

  • …read only trilogies or standalones?
  • …read only female or male authors?
  • …shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?
  • …all books become movies or tv shows?
  • …read 5 pages per day or read 5 books per week?
  • …be a professional reviewer or author?
  • …only read your top 20 favourite books over and over or always read new ones that you haven’t read before?
  • …be a librarian or a bookseller?
  • …read only your favourite genre or every genre except your favourite?
  • …only read physical books or eBooks?

If you’d like to answer the questions, go ahead and do them in the comments below. Or, if you’re feeling ambitious, make a video!

8 thoughts on “Would You Rather…”

  1. I like a variety of books and genres, male or female, it doesn’t matter to me, what matters is the plot. I love stand alones but also trilogies that I can really get into. And I rarely re-read a book unless it’s a particularly inspirational one.

    1. I think for most of these, I wouldn’t choose. The male vs female one I couldn’t choose. I think I’ve re-read only 1 book, and that’s Macbeth.

  2. I don’t have a real preference, but if I HAD to choose one or the other, I think I’d like trilogies (or series) over stand-alones.

    In a perfect world (where brick-and-mortar book stores actually stocked a lot of books instead of a lot of stuff that isn’t even book-related), I think I’d rather shop at Barnes and Noble than Amazon. I like print books. I like being able to SEE a book before i decide to buy it. And I don’t like shopping online for anything if I have a viable option.

    I’d rather read five books a week than read five pages a day.

    I would MUCH rather be an author than a professional reviewer.

    I’ve BEEN both a librarian and a bookseller, and the former is a lot more enjoyable. For one thing, librarians don’t have to deal with flustered, impatient, not-really-into-reading-but-want-to-get-a-book-for-Cousin-Nerd crowds of shoppers during the winter gift-buying season. Librarians are supposed to talk to people about books and make recommendations based on what those people say they’ve liked in the past (you can even recommend a book based on what television shows or movies they like!), rather than just hurry them to pick a book (or book-related thing, or even something that has nothing to do with books — it’s all the same) and pay for it and get out.

    I’d rather read only my favorite genre. SF/F is my favorite, but I’m willing to give up thrillers and mysteries and whatnot if it means I’d never be forced to read erotica or *shudder* Christian romances.

    WHY choose only male or only female authors? In what way is the quality of the writing affected by the author’s gender? (What about authors who identify as neither? Do their books never get read in this scenario?) On the other hand, it does seem that men are a bit less likely to write erotica or “Fifty Shades” style stories, and I’d rather avoid those (as in, I will inflict physical damage on any person who tries to force me to read such books).

    1. Since Barnes and Noble doesn’t exist in Canada, I could’ve changed the question to be more related to what we have in Canada, and that’s Indigo/Chapters/Coles (all the same company). I love those bookstores, and always enjoy looking around in them. Especially Indigo and Chapters. They’re virtually identical. Huge bookstores. Coles are smaller, and found in shopping malls, but they’re also quite good. Since moving back to Canada, I actually haven’t stepped foot inside an Indigo store yet. I really should.

Leave a Reply

