Worldbuilding and No Man’s Sky

As you may know, I’ve been playing No Man’s Sky. Every planet in the game is unique. And it’s actually quite inspirational for me. You see, it’s giving me ideas for worldbuilding.

However, we’ve had a bit of a bumpy road getting the game to work yesterday. It’s no fault of the game. It’s Steam that was being idiotic. Watch this video and you’ll find out.

I played the game today, and there was no problem. I’m loving the game. I spent the entire time today exploring this one planet, looking for resources, technology upgrades, and trying to learn more of the language. And the thing that struck me was how beautiful this world was. What you saw in the video above is that world.

The landscapes, ruins, plants, and animals inspire me. They’re giving me ideas for worldbuilding on Ariadne. And as I explore other worlds, I get even more ideas. This world is so colourful. I’d love to show you pictures, but I couldn’t actually take any screencaps of the game today. I’ll have to take photos instead. I want to show you the landscapes, the whole planet, and the animals. I’ll be making a feature on this blog about No Man’s Sky, and I’ll catalogue all the planets and animals I discover.

I probably won’t be playing the game for a few days, though. At least not until next week. But when I do, I’ll take pictures. I’m going to go through all the worlds I’ve been to, as I search for more things. I want to discover all animal species, which gives the player a big reward. Once I’ve done that, I’ll move on to the next star system.

On the topic of worldbuilding, it’s making me think about sketching landscapes and creating the animals for Ariadne. I’m really looking forward to that.

3 thoughts on “Worldbuilding and No Man’s Sky”

  1. Hey Jay Dee – see you are killing some time the same way I am since returning from the far East! Internet is much easier to use outside of China 😉 I am currently playing No-Man’s land on PS4, but I also tried on steam and could never get past the initialization screen…I will try again!

    Are you job searching also?

    1. I wonder if your computer isn’t good enough for the game. I’ve heard they’re basically the same, but PC is higher quality graphics.

      I’m job searching. It’s difficult at this time, because of a recession here.

Leave a Reply

