Evolving Characters of A Game of Thrones

Looking back at the first book of A Song of Ice and Fire, which of course is known as A Game of Thrones, I have to say that my opinion of characters has changed over the books. I’ve read the first three books so far, and I have developed different favourites by the time the third book ended.

Looking at the Starks, I haven’t really changed my opinion about anyone. However, I still strongly like Anya Stark and Jon Snow. I never really liked Robb Stark, and my least favourite of the kids was and still is Sansa. My opinion of Catelyn fluctuated between like and dislike, but ended up with mild dislike.

The Lannisters have been an interesting group. Joffrey Barratheon has always been a little ass, and I never liked him. Never liked Cersei. But Jaime and Tyrion have changed. In the beginning, I really liked Tyrion, but my like for him has faded a bit. At first, I hated Jaime. He was one of my most disliked characters. However, I actually like him now.

A lot can change over George R. R. Martin’s books. Earlier today, I posted a video review of A Game of Thrones, looking at how my opinion has changed or not changed about the book.

Has your opinion of the characters changed? Let me know in the comments below without giving me any spoilers.

4 thoughts on “Evolving Characters of A Game of Thrones”

  1. I still like Tyrion though the books have definitely made him a much darker character than the books. I can relate to him and how he , which probably engenders a lot of sympathy. Most of my favorite characters are like that. Even if we don’t share all aspects in common, if I can relate to their head space, I’ll enjoy them. My opinion of Jaime definitely changed for the better. I love how Martin doesn’t just write straightforward characters.

  2. Tyrion and Arya are and have been my favorite two characters. I’ve grown to like Jamie. And my opinion of Sansa has change as I’ve grown to like her, too. I like Joffery.. only in the sence that Martin has written him to be so hate-able.

Leave a Reply

