What’s Your Favourite Genre?

It’s been nearly two years since I’ve asked this question. My readership changes over time, so I think it’s a good time to ask this. It was also the Authors Answer question I answered on video this weekend. I reached back to Authors Answer #9: What are your favourite genres to read?

Here is my answer:

Although my answer can be pretty simple, I should add that I don’t just enjoy reading my favourite genres. I also like historic fiction, mythology, Shakespeare, and am interested in some classic literature. In addition, I like Sherlock Holmes.

So, what genres do you like to read? Let me know in the comments below.

8 thoughts on “What’s Your Favourite Genre?”

  1. My answer could be simple with fantasy, but saying fantasy is like saying fiction now. There are so many different sub-genres. I’ve always had a penchant for dark fantasy, and once I realized I wrote paranormal romance (long boring story about that…hopefully the novel I wrote isn’t long and boring; that would be discouraging), I’ve added that to my favorite list, too. I’ve also been reading more mysteries as I try new up-and-coming authors.

    1. I haven’t read mysteries other than Sherlock Holmes. I guess fantasy does have several subgenres. I’m interested mostly in traditional or high fantasy. Give me elves, dwarves, and wizards!

  2. I like just about every subgenre of SF/F, as long as it isn’t extreme “grimdark” or focused on something I have no interest in reading about regardless of genre.

    I also enjoy mysteries and thrillers, and sometimes I even read horror (as long as it at least borders on SF/F — I have no interest in mundane ax murderers).

    I like nonfiction, too. History, anthropology (of course!) and other sciences… I’ve read a few biographies of authors and other creative people.

  3. It is nice to see Deadhouse Gates in your photo!

    I alternate between Science Fiction and Fantasy. If I like the author though, I usually follow them and try to read all of their works. I’m very picky about writing style and try to gravitate towards authors I know that I like. Dan Simmons, for example, explores a plethora of different genres. And I just got Erikson’s new Sci-Fi book, Willful Child.

    1. I didn’t know Erikson wrote a sci-fi novel. I’ll have to check it out. I’m loving Malazan. I’m actually happy it’s such a long series. The world is refreshing and unique.

      1. The scifi book is good so far. The characters are similar to his more zany characters in the Malazan books.

        Erikson’s anthropology background really shows through with his world building.

Leave a Reply

