The Benefit of Making YouTube Videos

I’ve come to realise something about making daily YouTube videos. I’ve been speaking in front of a camera, and looking at my earliest videos, then my more recent ones, I see an improvement in my ability to speak. I’m becoming a better speaker. I’m feeling more comfortable speaking in front of a camera. And I think this will carry over to something very important.

You see, my job will involve me speaking in front of audiences, making science presentations and demonstrations. I need to be able to speak well, and in a friendly manner. The more I speak, the better I get. Thankfully, I’ll be talking about something I know well.

It’s funny, thinking back to when I was in school, I never would have imagined that nearly all of my jobs involve a lot of speaking. When I worked in the call centre, I had to speak a lot. Then I taught English in Japan, a job that required me to speak in front of groups. And now, I’m going to be speaking in front of larger groups mostly about physics and astronomy.

As I do more videos, I will improve. My videos will get better. And as I speak more in my job, my presentations will get better.

I surprised myself on Monday. I used to always just sit there and listen to most people talking. However, I tended to take the lead in some ways in conversations during my training. I wasn’t worried about talking in front of fifteen people. My manager even mentioned that I am the astronomy expert out of my group of trainees, so I’m the one to go to if there are any questions. This is definitely going to be interesting. This is the first time I’ve gone into a job where my degree is allowing me to be the “expert.”

Let’s see where this goes. This job may be one of my biggest opportunities for the future! And I have to thank YouTube videos for helping me improve my speaking and confidence.

6 thoughts on “The Benefit of Making YouTube Videos”

Leave a Reply

