Week in Review – October 16, 2016

Changes are happening. In more than one way. Let’s just say I’m focusing on quality rather than quantity now. Curious? Well, find out!

Reading

Almost done!!! Finally. Redemption Ark by Alastair Reynolds is now at 97% done, and I’ll be finishing it the next day I work. Feels great to make progress!

Writing

This is not where quality or quantity is happening.

Videos

This is where quality is improving. But first, I’ve done 7 videos on my main channel and 6 videos on my vlog channel. Well, the 6th vlog will be up after this post. What I mean about quality is that I’ve now started using a title screen for my main channel’s videos. I think it looks better. End card will come soon, I promise! Also, I’m going to try to focus on making my videos at least 5 minutes long, but no longer than 10 minutes. This is ideal because YouTube searches like videos that are longer, while people like watching videos that are shorter than 10 minutes. So the 5 to 10 minute length is ideal for views and search results. I’ve also been studying about SEO (search engine optimisation) for YouTube, which I really need to improve.

Patreon

Nothing. Major revamp coming!

Languages

Again, I haven’t done anything. Sometimes I just get myself too busy with one thing, and neglect others.

The Blog

This is the other place where quality is going to rule. I’ve stopped doing the twice a day blog posting! I’m still doing a blog post a day, and I’ll do more if I have something to say that is worth reading. This will allow me to focus more on quality posts and other things, like my videos. And eventually, my books!

Studying

Nope.

The Next Week’s Goals

I’ll be doing a lot on SEO, as well as book reviews. I need to get my last three reviews up before my new review. Also, as part of the SEO thing, I’m going to start doing transcriptions of my videos for closed captioning. This will also help improve my videos’ search rankings, as they’ll be more searchable. I think I’ll also open them up to people making translations and subtitles for my videos if they want.

How was your week?

9 thoughts on “Week in Review – October 16, 2016”

  1. My week last week was good. I got some good stuff written for the blog (though I’m totally clueless again this week). I uploaded a video. I’ve only been doing about 1 a week. I’d like to upload more, but I don’t know what to do. Perhaps I’ll start a spin-off channel of my blog and start a “dad talking about parenting” channel. Who knows?!

          1. The day I did the 40,000 step video I spent most of the day talking to the camera. By the end of it I was feeling better about it but still shy. I was okay as long as there was no risk of anyone seeing or hearing me πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

