Getting Immersed in a Book

There’s something I absolutely love, and that’s getting immersed in a book. It doesn’t matter where I am, as long as my mind is in the book, and everything around me is shut out, I feel like I can get lost in a book. If the book is especially good, I want to stay there a long time.

There have been some books I can’t get enough of, and I don’t want to stop reading. Usually, the ones that I want to keep reading are longer series. I think the two that I feel comfortable in are the Pern series and Shannara series. I love the worlds they’re set in.

But books aren’t the only thing I can get immersed in. There are certain TV series and movies that pull me, as well. In particular, the Star Trek movies and the later Star Trek: The Next Generation episodes. Deep Space Nine does it to me, too.

How about you? Which books draw you in so much that you don’t want to leave? Let me know in the comments below.

8 thoughts on “Getting Immersed in a Book”

  1. I’m with LeeAnn on LotR. Had the same kind of reaction when I saw the original “Star Wars” back in 1977: the next day I felt I really wanted to be ‘back there,’ in that world. Others? hmm … The Lensmen universe, from way back … Diane Duane’s Young Wizards … Heyer’s Regency England … Elizabeth Enright’s Melendy Quartet, when I want to feel like a carefree kid again.

  2. I just read Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, and I can say that by the end I was sobbing so hard I frightened the neighbours…

    I love getting lost in new worlds and living other people’s lives. It reminds me of that quote where they say that if you love reading, you don’t just live your life but a thousand others too. (Or something like that, haha).

Leave a Reply

