Books in Virtual Reality

Virtual reality is a reality now. You can get Oculus Rift or HTC Vive, use it on your computer, and enjoy immersing yourself in another world.

But this had me thinking. What if we could enter the world that exists in a book? You can fully interact with everything in that world, including places, characters, and more. Which book would you choose to enter?

I think I would love to be in the Pern series by Anne McCaffrey. I want to become a dragon rider and ride a dragon. That would be incredible.

Or maybe join Ender in Ender’s Game, training in that zero gravity training chamber. That would be a lot of fun.

Or how about exploring Mars in Red Mars? See Olympus Mons, the polar ice caps, or Valles Marineris.

The possibilities are endless. Which book would you choose? Let me know in the comments below.

9 thoughts on “Books in Virtual Reality”

  1. I’d like to see Westeros, but I’d probably get killed. I’d like to go to Mars with Watney, but I’d probably die there, too. The hunger games would neat to see, though I’d more than likely be the first to die there. I’d love to see Hogwarts as long as I don’t get jinxed or avada kadavra-ed. My favorite book is The Book Theif. Being in WWII Germany would be rather intense. Plus I’d probably die. Maybe I’ll just stay out of the book I like to read.

Leave a Reply

