Week in Review – November 27, 2016

A very contemplative week. I’ve had a lot of time off from work, and I’ve had a lot to think about regarding writing, videos, and more. So, what exactly happened? Let’s find out!

Reading

I finished The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, by N. K. Jemisin! Nice to finish another book. I started reading The Martian, by Andy Weir, and I’m now 6% finished. After I read that, I’ll watch the movie. Enjoying it so far.

Writing

With NaNoWriMo finishing this week, I won’t be able to do much in the way of writing. This was actually my worst NaNo! Oh well.

Videos

Some milestones were reached! I achieved 20,000 views on my main channel! I tend to get more views on YouTube than on the blog, yet I have fewer subscribers on YouTube. It was a slow week on my vlog channel, though. I had some trouble a couple times. So, I published 7 videos on my main channel and just 4 on my vlog channel. My main channel reached 300 subscribers in the past 24 hours, and will have a special 300 subscriber video tomorrow! Actually, it ended up being too long, so it’s a 2 part video, which will go up over the next 2 days.

Patreon

Nothing. Major revamp coming very soon!

Languages

After my daughter’s performance at her Japanese school’s play, I feel like I want to focus on Japanese again.

The Blog

Nothing really special happened, but I’ve been noticing the stats are very interesting. I have no blog posts in the top 7 or 8 for views this month. All of the top performing posts are from previous months. This is the first time that old blog posts carry most of the views for my blog. Not only that, with only one post per day, it’s actually outperforming last month in stats! That is very interesting. December will also be only one post a day, but I should return to twice a day in January. Going to focus a lot on established series on my blog, worldbuilding, reviews, interviews, and more! And a big welcome back to some science posts.

Studying

Nothing!

The Next Week’s Goals

With the end of the month coming, I have some regular end of month things to do: Month in Review blog post and the monthly wrap-up and TBR videos. I keep telling myself that I’ll be writing reviews. I need to do that. And I’ll also be doing more experimenting with SEO, as well as doing some new thumbnails for my YouTube channel.

How was your week?

Leave a Reply

