NoNoWriNo

NaNoWriMo 2016 turned into my worst one yet. I managed to write 254 words, then I just couldn’t seem to get anything else done. let’s look at the reasons.

Privacy

I had very little privacy. I can’t write upstairs, because the TV is on, and I’m never alone in the room. I couldn’t write in the kitchen, because it was a high traffic area. And whenever I was able to go down there, it was only for a short time while my daughter was at school.

Time

I worked more than usual this month. I had less private time at home. And if I had time at night, I was usually too tired to concentrate on writing.

Getting in the Zone

Because of the first two issues, I was unable to get into the zone. I couldn’t concentrate like I wanted to.

So, this was not a very good NaNoWriMo. But really, I prefer to write without the pressure. And if I can get my own space and be able to go in there at any time to write, that’ll allow me to relax and write like I want to.

How was your NaNoWriMo? Did you succeed? Let me know in the comments.

5 thoughts on “NoNoWriNo”

  1. I’ve never even attempted to write for NaNoWriMo. The emphasis on quantity over quality annoys me, and I don’t take well to “peer pressure” under any circumstances. I’m happy for my friends and acquaintances who do participate and are able to reach their goals, though.

  2. I did it just to see what all the fuss was about, but I won’t do it again. I didn’t enjoy writing toward a word count, and I was just writing to finish toward the end. I feel like I wasted a fairly decent outline that I’ll never get back again.

    I suppose it’s a good experience for people who have difficulty challenging themselves and need outside pressure, but my internal need to write is more than sufficient. I’m motivated by the desire to tell tales, my fascination with words, and by characters, not by word counts or time limits.

Leave a Reply

