Month in Review – November 2016

What a strange month. The numbers were not what I expected. I continued with posting once a day, but that didn’t hurt the numbers at all. In fact, this month had the third highest number of visitors for the year, but the second lowest in terms of views. But that’s not where the strangeness ends. November ended with 1,633 followers, a respectable increase of 59.

November Stats

November was the second slowest month of the year in terms of views. That was not unexpected. But it was still better than October. The average number of views per day was 76, which is the second worst of the year. Only 3 out of 30 days reached 100 views, which is a slight improvement. The best day was November 2nd with 112 views. The total number of views in November was 2,290, the 26th month in a row over 2,000. November ended with 95,563 views. There were 32 posts in November, bringing it to a total of 2,142.

In November, there were 221 comments, which was very low. That brings it to a total of 16,499.

The top ten countries were:

  1. United States (1,029 views)
  2. Canada (256 views)
  3. India (176 views)
  4. United Kingdom (146 views)
  5. Japan (83 views)
  6. Australia (73 views)
  7. Germany (39 views)
  8. Netherlands (34 views)
  9. Sweden (27 views)
  10. Philippines (21 views)

Top Posts

The top five (six) posts of November were:

  1. Authors Answer 108 – Bad Advice for Writers (35 views)
  2. International Science Centre and Science Museum Day (34 views)
  3. Really, Americans? (32 views)
  4. Authors Answer 107 – Our Works in Progress (31 views)
  5. Authors Answer 106 – What Authors Learn (29 views)
  6. Authors Answer 105 – New Knowledge Wishlist (29 views)

The most popular post written before November was Authors Answer 104 – Best Advice for Authors, which had a whopping 183 views.

For the first time ever, the majority of views on the blog were from older posts. This means that the older content is now enough to carry the blog. What concerns me is that my posts from this month didn’t gain many views. This is partly my fault, again with the lack of engagement in social media, delays in responding to comments, timing of my posts, and too many generic posts. December is going to be different. Let’s take a look at the posts that didn’t do well, and I feel they deserve another look:

Reviews

Nothing done. Need to get on this in December.

Social Media

On Twitter, I have 3,684 followers, which is a very small increase of 26.  I follow 3,687, which is up by 76. I finished with 9,872 tweets, with 203 coming in November. I need to manage Twitter better.

On YouTube, I uploaded 30 videos in November.  I have 302 subscribers, which is an increase of 34 from last month.  The month ended with 20,663 views, which is an increase of 1,751. It was a better month, an improvement on October.

On Facebook, my author page has 85 followers, which is an increase of 3.

On Patreon, I have 0 patrons contributing $0 per month. I don’t expect much until I really start to promote it.

Looking Ahead to December

I’m taking a completely different approach to December. This is the month I return to what worked well before. I will be trying to move away from video digests (I’ll still have the weekly one, which does reasonably well) and back to what I used to do a lot of. This includes:

  • Book reviews done in a timely manner
  • Worldbuilding posts, which tended to be fairly popular
  • Quick Facts posts, focusing on the moons of the solar system again
  • An author interview

Something I plan on expanding is the TV reviews. I already do Star Trek episode reviews, but I also plan on doing other science fiction and fantasy TV and movie reviews. But not episode by episode, just season or series reviews for TV.

As for social media, I’m going to do a big cleanup on Twitter for people who I follow, but don’t follow me. There are a lot who follow me only to get followers, then immediately unfollow as soon as I follow. I’ll be weeding those people out. I don’t appreciate people who do that. When I follow someone on Twitter, it’s because I have an interest in following them. If they follow me first, and I return the follow, I expect they want to follow me. However, if they unfollow me immediately, I unfollow them. I really don’t like those tactics. Follow because you want to follow, not because you want followers.

Another thing I need to do is comment on other blogs. I need to get back to doing that.

5 thoughts on “Month in Review – November 2016”

  1. How do you manage to do blog posts AND YouTube videos?! I have just enough time to read ~2 books per week and do reviews/other posts and I still feel like there’s not enough room in my schedule..

    1. I’m currently only working part time. That’s why. When I worked full time, I couldn’t do the videos like this. I’ll probably slow down over the holidays because I’ll be working more.

  2. Decent numbers even with fewer posts. I have had enough time to respond to comments, but really enough to read other blogs other than the few who show up in my email. Your YT channel seems to be headed in the right direction. Way to go!

      1. It’s tough to run them both as successfully as you want them to be. There’s just not enough time in the day. I’m posting twice a day so my stats have gone up, but they certainly don’t seem as high as I was expecting them to be for posting twice. Could be because one of daily posts is about a couple elves 🙂

Leave a Reply

