Authors Answer 113 – Writing in 2016

In two days, it will be 2017. It’s been quite a year with the high profile celebrity deaths, the election of Donald Trump as President of the United States, Brexit, and the refugee crisis. Some people may say it’s the worst year in a long time. But what about our writing? Did we have a good year?

320px-Modern-ftn-pen-cursiveQuestion 113: Looking back on 2016, how was your year in terms of writing?

H. Anthe Davis

Well, beyond the standard ups and downs (such as losing all will to live during the desert summer and then losing some extra will to live in October and November), I did fairly well writing-wise — got one book completed and started on another, even though publication for the first book is delayed until 2017.  I kept a pretty steady pace all year, and am starting to actually feel like I know what I’m doing, and that I’m qualified to go back to some older work and fix the problems that have nagged me for ages.  I shouldn’t tinker with my older stuff as much as I do, but as long as this first series is still being written, I can’t help it; sometimes I have a revelation and I need to correct old bad information.  But that’s fine.  After all, I’m still just self-published.  These books can remain living, changing works as long as I need them to (though I do believe the large-scale changes are now done).

C E Aylett

Probably crap by most people’s standards. I spent most of the year submitting various short stories and my novel (I did spend 18mths prior to that editing said novel). I hate the submissions process: it’s slow, requires a lot of research, and immensely frustrating. I understand why it is this way, but it doesn’t make it any easier! Still, as I wasn’t ready to hop over to another big novel project after finishing my last, turning to shorts and my online classes seemed like a constructive and related distraction. And I also picked up a reasonable amount of editing work. Come the New Year I am putting my next novel up on the top of the priority list.

Beth Aman

Weird.  It was a year when I was kinda in-between projects.  I did some editing, some plotting, and some querying of agents, and altogether not enough writing.  Here’s to a better 2017!

D. T. Nova

Not nearly as productive as I would have liked.

I have made some pretty important decisions about what I’ve been working on, but haven’t done enough to implement them.

Eric Wood

My writing was very productive. I have just surpassed the number of posts I published all of last year. I passed my total views long ago. But the comments have nearly tripled. The comments are what keep me coming back. You all are responsible for that and I thank you!

Jean Davis

2016 had its ups and, well, mostly ups. After two years of not getting much writing done, I’m happy to say this past year was relatively productive, and I hope the next one is even more so. Sahmara was released, The Narvan series got a contract, a few short stories went to print. I have a horde of short stories and novels waiting to be finished and edited and a new novel that popped up during NaNo. If next year goes as well as this, I’ll be quite pleased.

Elizabeth Rhodes

This was the year of loose ends. I started projects but never finished them. I submitted short stories but received few acceptances. 2017 will be better.

Paul B. Spence

Terrible. I didn’t get any new books finished. I only wrote about 80,000 words on three books I’ve been working on, different series. I hope next year that I have time to finish them and get them out.

Cyrus Keith

Interrupted.

2016 was an eventful year, in many tragic, significant, and otherwise big ways, and those events more than anything dictated how much time I was able to spend actually creating. As a consequence, I’m almost a year behind my self-imposed deadline of completing my current WIP.

Gregory S. Close

Simple answer for me : it didn’t!  Terrible year for writing.

Tracey Lynn Tobin

I won’t say that I’m terribly disappointed with the way 2016 turned out, because I did get a fair bit done, but there’s also a lot that I wanted to do that didn’t happen, like publishing my second novel (it’s looking like maybe Summer 2017 now). I wrote a fair number of words overall, but they were spread out over a bunch of different projects because I had a hard time focusing this year. Between that and the fact that I was excruciatingly busy with “real” work and the YouTube channel, I definitely feel like the writing aspect of the year could have gone better, but I won’t beat myself up too much. 2017 is another year!

Jay Dee Archer

2016 has been a year of almost no writing, other than blogging. Thanks to a lack of privacy and quiet, I haven’t been able to make much progress. I attempted NaNoWriMo, but that died out quickly. Hoping 2017 is a better year!

How about you?

How was your year in terms of writing, if you’re an author? If not, how was your year in terms of reading? Let us know in the comments below. And Happy New Year!

8 thoughts on “Authors Answer 113 – Writing in 2016”

  1. Reading was fine – I completed a re-read of the whole Harry Potter series while still exceeding my Goodreads target of 35 (other) books. Writing hasn’t been nearly so good – I failed two Camp NaNoWriMos but did complete the November one: it was even one of my best ever. I have a couple of projects planned for 2017 that I can hopefully bring some improved focus to.

  2. Ok, so we’re mostly all agreed that 2017 is a do or die situation, right? 😀 We are WRITING, I say! *passes on hammer, nails, planks of wood, sleeping bags and food supplies*

Leave a Reply

