A Strategy for Reading and Writing

I’ve never really thought about having a strategy for reading and writing before. But with the kind of work schedule I have, I really need to think about it. 

First of all, for reading, I tend to only read while I’m taking the bus to and from work. I don’t always take the bus, though. I never get any reading done on my days off. So, I need to set aside time to read every day. I’m thinking 15 to 30 minutes is good. With that amount of time, I should be able to finish books faster than I have been. 

As for writing, any time I have alone could be a good time to write. But that’s not often. So, I’ll try squeeze in 15 minutes to write every day. That’s far better than I’ve done in recent months. 

Do you have a strategy for reading and writing? Share it in the comments below. 

9 thoughts on “A Strategy for Reading and Writing”

  1. I’ll read at any spare moment: at meals, if I’m eating alone; while I’m getting dressed; on the treadmill at the gym; waiting in line. (I carry a book practically everywhere.)

    Writing is harder. I have to recommit each year (as a New Year’s resolution) to set aside some time each day.

    1. Writing can be difficult to find time for. I have a very difficult time with that. I’ve never tried reading while getting dressed, though. I should bring a book to the treadmill at the gym. Or at least an eBook. I haven’t been reading those lately.

  2. You asked about our strategy for reading and writing.
    I write in my journal every morning while I drink my coffee; I’ve done this for years. My journals were the basis for my lessons and now they are the basis for my novels and my blog. Mon-Fri, I try to set aside a two-hour window of time for writing. I also do a lot of my writing at church service on Sunday. For some reason, that is my muse.
    I read almost anywhere: on the exercise bike, at breakfast and lunch, in the car waiting for my husband, at the doctor’s office, after dinner, etc. I also read multiple books concurrently because different books are better read at different times.
    Hope you find this helpful.

  3. I read blogs while I’m eating and I read books at bedtime. I write when I get the chance. Lately it’s after the boys go to bed. Sometimes I’ll do it on my days off and everyone else has left for school.

      1. The morning in our house are crazy. My wife and I are up at 6. I pack lunches while she makes her breakfast and gets ready for work. After I pack lunches I eat my breakfast then wake the boys up. So I get to eat sort of alone. I’m not really alone because my wife is here doing her thing, but I’m the only one eating. While the boys are eating their breakfast I go get dressed and get myself ready and etc… So I’m lucky in the sense that I have the opportunity to read while I eat πŸ™‚

        1. C. S. Lewis wrote that reading and eating are two activities that go well together.

          On Thu, Jan 12, 2017 at 5:15 PM, I Read Encyclopedias for Fun wrote:

          > stomperdad commented: “The morning in our house are crazy. My wife and I > are up at 6. I pack lunches while she makes her breakfast and gets ready > for work. After I pack lunches I eat my breakfast then wake the boys up. So > I get to eat sort of alone. I’m not really alone because” >

Leave a Reply

