Uncomfortable, but I Can’t Look Away

I went to work for the third time this year. I’ve been working every day so far. It’s January. And it’s cold. Not only that, it was humid last night, so everything got frosty. This is what I saw near work.

Looks like some nice scenery, doesn’t it? But it was -19 degrees Celsius at the time. Cold! It can simultaneously be beautiful and very uncomfortable.

That had me thinking, have I ever been unable to stop reading, yet uncomfortable about what I was reading? Yes, I have.

When I was reading Wizard’s First Rule, some scenes with Darken Rahl were incredibly uncomfortable, as he was a completely asshole. He was a monster. Some of the things he did were so bad, I really hated the character. Yet, I couldn’t stop reading.

Have you ever been in this situation? Let me know in the comments below without revealing any spoilers.

7 thoughts on “Uncomfortable, but I Can’t Look Away”

  1. Most recently the opening chapter of ‘The North Water’ by Ian McGuire. It was the first book for a new book group I joined and quite a few of us were uncomfortable at the start. Worth persevering though!

Leave a Reply

