Movie Review – Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

My sister and I went to a VIP theatre to watch Rogue One: A Star Wars Story. It was in 3D. We had our food and drinks delivered to us at our seats. Very nice. But how was the movie? Here’s one of the official trailers to start us off.

Visuals

Since this is a science fiction/science fantasy movie, you’d expect good special effects and visuals. I wasn’t disappointed. It looked great! Even in 3D, it was well done. I was very satisfied with the 3D aspect of it, no visual problems at all. The ships looked very good. Much like the original movies. All the X-Wings, Tie Fighters, and Imperial Destroyers were very nicely done.

The planets were very good. I especially liked the tropical world filmed in the Maldives. It was the first time I’ve seen a world looking like that in Star Wars.

The CG for non-human characters were good, and a step up from the original movies’ puppets, which were a bit jerky-looking at times. But these were done well. The CG for the human characters (Tarkin and Leia) were quite good, but almost too perfect. So perfect that they didn’t look entirely real.

Overall, I’d give visuals a 5/5.

Characters and Acting

I found that the acting was fairly good. Felicity Jones as Jyn Erso was good. Diego Luna as Cassian Andor came across as arrogant, which I think is what they were looking for. I really liked Donnie Yen as Chirrut Imwe. He was my favourite human character. I also really liked Jiang Wen as Baze Malbus. He really grew on me as the movie went on. Riz Ahmed as the pilot was fairly good, though not my favourite character. Forest Whitaker as Saw Gerrera was okay. He wasn’t in the movie as much as I thought he would, but I wasn’t blown away by him. But I think the one that really stole the show as Alan Tudyk as K-2SO. The droid was the best. Very funny and a great character. Of course, Peter Cushing couldn’t reprise his role as Grand Moff Tarkin, as he passed away more than twenty years ago. However, he was as I expected in his CGness (that’s not a word). And James Earl Jones is back again as the voice of Darth Vader. Great job, as always.

Overall, 4/5.

Story

I came into this with an expectation of being treated to a movie which would bring me back to the original Star Wars trilogy. It was set just before A New Hope, and what we get is a story where a group of rebels try to steal the plans of the Death Star. That’s the entire premise of the movie, and it’s an incredibly important event that leads to Episode IV. I found that the story was a series of life or death situations that they had to get through to finally reach their goal. It’s difficult to talk about the story without giving anything away, but you have to expect some deaths. It’s not a story where you expect everyone to come out alive. Sounds depressing, doesn’t it? However, it’s a story that provides hope. Everyone has a positive attitude about what they’re doing, and they charge ahead regardless of their possible deaths.

One thing I was hoping to feel was a goosebumps feeling or two. I didn’t get any feelings like that at all. Nostalgia? A little. It was nice seeing brief cameos of beloved Star Wars characters. But it wasn’t amazing. It was very good. I enjoyed it, but it wasn’t amazing.

Overall, I’d give the story a 4/5.

Overall

Excellent visuals, good acting, good story. It wasn’t entirely what I expected, but I did gain a couple favourite characters (Chirrut Imwe and K-2SO). I do highly recommend this movie, though. It’s certainly better than the prequel trilogy. It was fresh, though a bit grittier.

In the end, I give it 4/5.

Watch my review on my YouTube channel:

How about you?

What did you think of Rogue One? Let me know in the comments section below.

3 thoughts on “Movie Review – Rogue One: A Star Wars Story”

Leave a Reply

