Speaking on Camera

I make a lot of videos these days. I appear on camera for people to hear what I say. My top video that I appear in screen has almost 800 views. That many people have watched me talk about fantasy novels I’m anticipating in 2017. 

But think about this. How would you feel if people you know are watching your videos? They could be friends, family, and even coworkers. A few years ago, I would have said there’s no way I could do that. But now? It’s not a big deal for me anymore. I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that I don’t think about it. Even though I’m thinking about it now, I’m so used to it that I really don’t care if people have a negative opinion. I do it for those who enjoy that type of video. 

I also do a lot of public speaking now. 15 years ago, I couldn’t do it. Then I became a team leader in a call centre. I spoke to groups of up to 50 briefing them on projects. Then I taught English for 11 years to groups of up to 8-10 people. Now I speak to groups of up to 40 several times a day at work. And I have no problems doing it. I would’ve had terrible stage fright several years ago. Now it’s not a big deal. 

How do you feel about speaking in front of groups?

8 thoughts on “Speaking on Camera”

  1. I’m a teacher so I do a lot of speaking to groups. It’s easier with children than with adults but I don’t mind doing that either. I do an assembly every week with 400 children plus adults and it doesn’t faze me. It would have done ten years ago but you get used to it.

    1. Yeah, I got used to it. What’s funny is that I can speak in front of a group of 50 adults and children without any nervousness, yet when I talk in front of a couple members of HR, my mouth goes dry.

  2. I love the fact that you feel free to speak your opinions on your videos. It takes guts to do that and not obsess about the bullshit judgements people will make. That’s why I started my blog, so I could say what I’m interested in that I was always reticent to do before.

    1. Yeah, that’s something I’m happy about. I can say what I want. I don’t worry about people disagreeing. Someone will always disagree. People who insult can easily have their comments deleted.

  3. I used to read in church when I was in high school. Now as as a teacher I have no trouble. However, talking to a camera feel entirely foreign to me. It’s weird… I just need to do it more.

Leave a Reply

