Week in Review – April 2, 2017

The A to Z Challenge has begun! That’s the biggest news of the week, I’d say. Actually, I had a very busy week of work because it was spring break. Busy days of work resulted in less time for me to spend at home working on the blog and videos. Well, now I have a busy blogging and video-making month ahead of me. Let’s find out what happened.

Reading

I’m now at 72% on Theft of Swords by Michael J. Sullivan. I feel like I’m almost finished, although Avempartha is book two of this series, and only half of this book.

Writing

I may have an idea for getting time to write. We’ll see if it works.

Videos

Just three videos. One for my main channel and two for my science channel. But this week, there will be six on my science channel. The A to Z Challenge has begun, and I’m doing it on both my blog and science channel. Definitely subscribe to my channels if you want to see more.

Patreon

With the amount and type of videos I’m doing on my science channel, I wonder if anything will happen.

Languages

I didn’t study anything.

The Blog

The A to Z Challenge started, as I’ve mentioned before. This will be a busy month, definitely. I also started another blog, one for my science channel. Check out the blog and follow it if you’re interested in science.

Studying

Nothing.

The Next Week’s Goals

This week and for the entire month, I’m dedicated to the A to Z Challenge. Although there won’t be much in the way of books and writing in this challenge, it’ll keep me busy. I hope you’ll enjoy the content I provide this month.

How was your week?

Month in Review – March 2017

Another month of less work on the blog. That should change for April, because I’ve started the A to Z Challenge. I had my slowest month in posting for a long time, but the numbers weren’t very different than the previous month. The month ended with 1,721 followers, an increase of 25, which is an improvement.

March Stats

March’s numbers weren’t very good. The average number of views per day is the lowest since September 2014. The average number of views per day was 65, the lowest in the past year.. Only 1 out of 31 days reached 100 views, which is pretty bad. The best day was March 13th with 153 views. The total number of views in March was 2,001, the 30th month in a row over 2,000. March ended with 104,288 views. There were 22 posts in February, bringing it to a total of 2,257.

In February, there were 129 comments, which was pretty low, but that’s my fault. That brings it to a total of 17,132.

The top ten countries were:

  1. United States (1,034 views)
  2. Canada (181 views)
  3. United Kingdom (149 views)
  4. India (126 views)
  5. Australia (55 views)
  6. Philippines (44 views)
  7. Jamaica (41 views)
  8. Japan (31 views)
  9. Netherlands (26 views)
  10. France (21 views)

Top Posts

The top five posts of March were:

  1. Authors Answer 122 – Should You Write Every Day? (47 views)
  2. Authors Answer 124 – Should You Write With Plain Language? (34 views)
  3. Authors Answer 125 – Is Short Better? (33 views)
  4. Authors Answer 123 – Should You Write What You Know? (27 views)
  5. I Want to Live in Another World! The Jay Dee Show 24 (24 views)

The most popular post made before March was Don’t Believe the Mt. Etna CO2 Meme with 214 views.

Yet again, Authors Answer was the most popular type of post in March. But there were a lot of people who wanted to see my post about that meme. Here are some posts that didn’t do as well, but I think you should check out.

Reviews

I’ve come to the decision to discontinue doing reviews, as I’m not particularly interested in doing them anymore, and they tend to be my least popular posts.

Social Media

On Twitter, I have 3,652 followers, which is a decrease of 15.  I follow 3,687, which hasn’t changed from the previous month. I haven’t been particularly active with following on Twitter. I finished with 10,408 tweets, with 87 coming in March.

On YouTube, I uploaded 6 videos in March. It was the slowest month in a while, but I was busy again. I have 402 subscribers, which is an increase of 19 from last month.  The month ended with 27,699 views, which is an increase of 1,559, which is higher than February despite the lack of videos. More regular uploading should happen in March.

On Facebook, my author page has 86 followers, which is up by 1.

On Patreon, I have 0 patrons contributing $0 per month. I’ll be promoting it more this month.

Looking Ahead to April

There’s a lot to expect in April. I’ll be doing the A to Z Challenge, which will account for 26 posts. Each one will feature a video, though they’ll be on my science channel. I also expect to do a lot more with social media, keeping up with comments, and visiting other blogs.

I’m definitely looking forward to a major rebound in April.

A to Z Challenge Begins! The Jay Dee Show 26

I seemed to delayed with everything this past week. Well, here we are with some videos. And the A to Z Challenge has begun! I uploaded only one video for my main channel, but I have two for you from my science channel!

On my main channel, my regular weekly Authors Answer has continued. This time, I talked about the validity and legality of fanfiction.

Over on my science channel, I started off April with a bang. And it’s going to be a very busy month on that channel.

The first video I posted is the first of the A to Z Challenge videos, this time featuring the letter A and Alpha Centauri.

And then I made a video about what was to come in April and some changes I have in store for science news.

And that’s all for this week. Expect 6 videos a week from my science channel, and 2 or 3 from my main channel throughout April. It’ll be pretty productive!

Which videos did you enjoy? Let me know in the comments below.