Authors Answer 130 – Till Death Do Us Write

For most authors, writing is a long term activity. But how long do authors write? What age do they quit? Or do they quit in their lifetimes? This week, we talk about how long we intend to write.

Question 130 – How long do you think you’ll write? Is there a point when you think you’ll stop?

Tracey Lynn Tobin

I don’t think that I’ll ever really stop writing. I might reach a point in my life when I decide that there’s no point in attempting to publish anymore, but writing in general is just a huge part of who I am. I’ll always scribble out random scenes that pop into my head, or create new stories for other peoples’ characters. It’s not always about the end game of having a completed book; I write for fun, for love, and out of an almost physical need to, and I’m pretty sure that’s how it’s always going to be.

D. T. Nova

Stop entirely? Doesn’t seem very likely.

Gregory S. Close

I think I’ll write until I die.  Not non-stop.  There should be a couple of pee breaks, at least.

Jean Davis

I don’t foresee a reason to stop writing. There may come a time when I write only for myself rather than books I try to sell, but I tend to write the stories I like to read already so that wouldn’t be much of a change.

Eric Wood

I’ve always been drawn to writing. Even as a little kid I loved writing stories. I was always either writing stories or in a journal (not a diary!) or letters to friends to pass in the school halls. I don’t see an end to my writing any time in the near or distant future. Now I write a blog and I’m seriously enjoying it.

Paul B. Spence

What a strange question. I suppose I’ll stop when I’m dead. Why would I ever stop writing? I’m not doing it for the money. I’m writing because I’m a storyteller.

C E Aylett

Now I’ve been doing it for a decade, I can’t see myself ever stopping. However, lately life has become more hectic, complicated and stressful and I’ve lost my mojo a bit. I fully expect it to return, but in the meantime I am forcing bum on seat and even a paragraph a day is progress the way I see it. The only way I could see me stopping would be to let the routine slip, let life totally take control and not make the time for it. In saying that, I have ideas for eight more novels, half of which are already written in various stages of progress. Can’t see me giving those up, tbh.

H. Anthe Davis

I plan to write until I die.  And if we have reached a technological state by then that one can upload consciousness into the internet, or preserve the mind in some other manner, I’d like to continue writing after death too.

Beth Aman

I don’t think I’ll ever permanently stop writing.  I think there will be times when life is just too crazy to write seriously, but I think I will always pick it up again.  (Just like I sometimes go a few months without reading a book, but then I’ll marathon a series in a week.)  Being a writer is a part of who I am, now.  I think I’ll be the 95-year-old woman in a nursing home who won’t stop jotting down bad poetry on old napkins.

Elizabeth Rhodes

I don’t see myself stopping at any point in the future. Realistically, I’ll stop writing when I run out of viable story ideas, but I doubt that will happen or I’d even recognize my newer ideas as nonsense. So, I think I’ll be writing something or other for a good long while.

Cyrus Keith

I’ll stop writing sometime after they close the lid.

Jay Dee Archer

Stop? What’s that? I have far too many stories in my brain to stop writing. I want them out on paper (real and digital) for people to read. The process of writing takes a long time, and I think it’ll take my entire life to get those stories out.

How about you?

If you’re an author, how long do you think you’ll be writing? Let us know in the comments section below.

5 thoughts on “Authors Answer 130 – Till Death Do Us Write”

  1. I’ll keep writing (and ‘silently correcting the grammar’ of other writers) for the rest of my life. If there comes a time when my hands flat-out DO NOT function well enough to allow me to type, I’ll (grudgingly) get one of those talk-to-the-computer-and-make-it-type-for-you programs (even though I’ll do A LOT of cussing at it for getting the punctuation wrong), and continue as best I can. My plan, though, is to live long enough that medical nanotech is developed that can fix my joints and nerves and eyes… Then I’ll live practically forever, and in a few hundred years, I’ll be that grumpy, grouchy old writer/editor who regales youngsters with tales of a time when most people thought space travel was just a fantasy and when it was correct to leave two spaces after a period.

Leave a Reply

