You Can’t Please Everyone – Comments

Over the last couple months, I’ve been receiving a lot of comments on two posts which talk about things that bring a lot of controversy. One is about politics, the other is about climate change.

I’m better at talking about climate change, so I don’t have a problem rebutting climate change deniers’ claims. One comment questioned what I said in the post and provided some information about Mt. Etna’s CO2 output, thinking he won the “debate.” Well, the information he told me matches what was said on Snopes, as well as scientific sources. It only confirmed what I’d said. That backfired.

And about Snopes, if I refer to a Snopes article, don’t say it’s not a legitimate source. You know why? The information they give references scientific journals, government research, and other legitimate sources.

But then, we get to the political post. The topic doesn’t matter, but what does matter is how people comment. I was insulted in a rather crude manner. The first rule on this blog for comments is this: Do not insult anyone. The second rule: Be civil. These people broke those rules.

If you want to have a constructive conversation, then behave. Use intelligent arguments, not reactionary ones. Don’t use all caps on random words. Whenever I see comments like that, I can pretty safely assume that the person is irrational and illogical. All caps don’t make an argument stronger, it makes the person look like they’re shouting. Don’t call me or other commenters idiots. Behaviour like this makes a person less credible. It’s not worth my time to debate with people like this.

Now that I got this off my chest, I’ll return this blog to normal.

9 thoughts on “You Can’t Please Everyone – Comments”

  1. Civility usually he’s out the window with politics, religion, most things science, whether or not you separate one biscuit on the Oreo or not before you eat it. Sadly, it’s just the way it is I’m afraid

  2. Some people just don’t know how to discuss. I’m not sure if it’s a “hiding behind a computer screen” syndrome or a “human being” affliction, but when it comes to discussions they’re always right, they’re not changing their mind, and they will belittle anyone who thinks otherwise.

    1. Yeah, definitely. I had a more recent one, too. On a video I did about Justin Trudeau, the person brought up politics and made 7 comments, including links to videos to support his politics after I said that some people like him, some people don’t. He then insulted another person commenting saying she was attracted to Trudeau sexually. It’s become interesting since then.

Leave a Reply

