My Summer Reading

I got a bit behind on my VEDA blog posts! So, time to catch up. First up is my summer reading list. I admit I’ve been pretty bad at reading lately, and I keep telling myself I’ll take half an hour or an hour every night to read. But that hasn’t happened. I need to!

But here is my summer reading plan:

Here’s the list, in case you missed it:

  • Theft of Swords, by Michael J. Sullivan
  • Consider Phlebas, by Iain M. Banks
  • Mistborn, by Brandon Sanderson

If you didn’t watch the video, you’re missing out on a lot.

Have you read any of these books? Let me know what you thought of them. Also, what are you reading the rest of this summer?

2 thoughts on “My Summer Reading”

  1. They definitely don’t say “readers make the best writers” for nothing. Everything you said about how reading helps your own writing and makes you want to write is dead on. There have been days where I initially didn’t feel like writing, opting to read instead, but afterwards (or often during so I interrupted the session), I’d be spurred back towards my own work. It really does help, and there’s nothing wrong with being inspired by those who came before us!

    I have Consider Phlebas on my TBR list, as well! I don’t have a summer reading list per se, since I have quite an extensive general one. Maybe I’ll do that next year. I have far surpassed my yearly challenge amount of 15. I’d made it 20 last year, but only read 19, so I lowered the number, not realizing how effective my new reading method would be.

    I’ve read the first Mistborn, and it is VERY popular with many lovers of fantasy. His world building and magic system is extremely detailed, but while I managed to read the first book and liked the characters of Vin and Kelsier quite a bit, I found Sanderson to be a bit too…clinical (?) for me. He tends to tell more than he shows, and I found this to be even more egregious in his second book. This doesn’t seem to bother a slew of fantasy fans, and the Mistborn trilogy is very well loved. I don’t think it’s bad, but the writing style just wasn’t for me. I have his Way of Kings on my TBR list, because sometimes you’ll like an author’s other work(s). That’s how I was with Neil Gaiman. I couldn’t get into him initially, and had to put aside both American Gods and Neverwhere, but after reading Stardust and then The Ocean at the End of the Lane, I found I was better able to access his style.

    I read the blurb on Theft of Swords, but I think I’ll wait for your review of it before I make the decision to add or not 🙂

Leave a Reply

