I Quit!

…the Organic Solar Cell course on Coursera.

It takes up far too much time to get things done, and it’s not particularly interesting to me at this time.  I have 3 courses ending soon, and a couple others that I am very interested in that I’m falling behind in.  I need to cut what I’m not prepared to work on.

There are a lot of things going on these days.  I have the writing challenge (#3 is ending in less than 3 hours!), my own writing, 5 online courses, work, family, reading, and blogging.  I also have a vlog which I have barely started, and need to figure out how I can get the time to do it and in a place where I won’t get interrupted.

Sometimes I give myself too much to do.  I think I need to simplify.  What I need to do is this:

  • Limit myself to only 3 online courses at a time, preferably 2.
  • Write for at least 30 minutes a day (flash fiction, my book, short stories).
  • Read on the train, during my breaks, and for at least 30 minutes at home.
  • 1 or 2 blog posts per day.
  • 1 or 2 videos a week.

Achievable?  I hope.  Since I have 3 courses ending soon, I’ll be down to 2 courses, but another one starts at the end of this month.  Then 2 end and another starts, so that leaves me with 2 courses for much of summer.  I need to sort out which courses to drop that start in September and October.  I’d prefer to keep the courses related to science and history.

And I need to clean up.  My daughter makes a mess every day.  Need more organisation at home.  It’s quite difficult with so much clutter and a small apartment.  In 2 years, we’ll be moving to Canada, where we should have a lot more space, and hopefully I can have that office/studio I’ve been wanting.

So, how busy are you?

24 Hours to Go

The deadline for What Will You Write? #3 is in less than 24 hours.  So, if you’re planning to join, please post by then.

This has been a learning experience for me.  This latest one was very narrow in scope, so less flexible and maybe has less appeal.  Only two entries so far.  Next week’s is a guest prompt by Tracey Lynn Tobin!

And I’ll leave you with an interview with my daughter.  I hope you learn something from her.