Unpopular Opinions

We all have our likes and dislikes. Most of the time, people have likes and dislikes that are pretty common. But sometimes, we may have some unpopular opinions. Let’s start with some literary ones:

  • My favourite fantasy series is Terry Brooks’ Shannara series. That’s probably not a very common opinion. I just love the series.
  • My favourite science fiction series is Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Pern series. Many people think it’s fantasy, but it’s not. I will argue that it’s science fiction, because it is! But I doubt that it’s a common favourite.
  • I loved Shakespeare in high school. Pretty sure most people didn’t like it.
  • My favourite book read in school was The Chrysalids, by John Wyndham. Despite the blatant deus ex machina, I really enjoyed this book!

And now for some non-literary opinions.

  • I love Marmite. Really. A lot.
  • I loved Star Trek: Enterprise. Well, mostly. A lot of people thought it was the worst series, but I enjoyed it a lot, and I wish it went the full 7 seasons.
  • I enjoy earthquakes and typhoons. Weird, huh?
  • I can’t stand crab and lobster. I love shrimp, but I don’t want to touch their bigger cousins.
  • I hate tomatoes so much, I can’t eat pizza that has tomato sauce. It’s just gross.

Anything surprise you? How about you? What are some likes and dislikes of yours that are uncommon? Let me know in the comments below.

5 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions”

  1. I enjoyed the first Shannara books (have not had the chance to read the newer ones), unfortunately they were basically a rip-off of Tolkien. Pern also good. I imagine you liked Enterprise because of the Captain’s name 🙂 I am now watching the reruns (missed many eps when I was outside USA). The series had potential and some good episodes, but unfortunately ran into franchise fatigue.. I am hopeful for Discovery, even though its being filmed in Canada 😉 (parts of Star Trek Beyond also were – the USA is loosing almost all of its sci fi film/tv due to tax breaks in other countries….

  2. Following your example:
    My favorite fantasy series is His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman; my favorite sci-fi books are the Robot and the Foundation series by Isaac Asimov. I like Shakespeare and his sister. (I recently blogged about The Complete Works of Shakespeare, Abridged.) My favorite book (read in elementary school) was Little Women.
    My version of marmite is hummus; I like Star Trek–any version; I do not eat shellfish because I know what they’ve been up to; Italian food and Mexican food are my favorites so I embrace tomatoes in any form.

Leave a Reply

